lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [May]   [28]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 432/496] perf/x86/intel: Fix large period handling on Broadwell CPUs
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>

[ Upstream commit f605cfca8c39ffa2b98c06d2b9f30ba64f1e54e3 ]

Large fixed period values could be truncated on Broadwell, for example:

perf record -e cycles -c 10000000000

Here the fixed period is 0x2540BE400, but the period which finally applied is
0x540BE400 - which is wrong.

The reason is that x86_pmu::limit_period() uses an u32 parameter, so the
high 32 bits of 'period' get truncated.

This bug was introduced in:

commit 294fe0f52a44 ("perf/x86/intel: Add INST_RETIRED.ALL workarounds")

It's safe to use u64 instead of u32:

- Although the 'left' is s64, the value of 'left' must be positive when
calling limit_period().

- bdw_limit_period() only modifies the lowest 6 bits, it doesn't touch
the higher 32 bits.

Signed-off-by: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Fixes: 294fe0f52a44 ("perf/x86/intel: Add INST_RETIRED.ALL workarounds")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1519926894-3520-1-git-send-email-kan.liang@linux.intel.com
[ Rewrote unacceptably bad changelog. ]
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <alexander.levin@microsoft.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
arch/x86/events/intel/core.c | 2 +-
arch/x86/events/perf_event.h | 2 +-
2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/events/intel/core.c
+++ b/arch/x86/events/intel/core.c
@@ -3196,7 +3196,7 @@ glp_get_event_constraints(struct cpu_hw_
* Therefore the effective (average) period matches the requested period,
* despite coarser hardware granularity.
*/
-static unsigned bdw_limit_period(struct perf_event *event, unsigned left)
+static u64 bdw_limit_period(struct perf_event *event, u64 left)
{
if ((event->hw.config & INTEL_ARCH_EVENT_MASK) ==
X86_CONFIG(.event=0xc0, .umask=0x01)) {
--- a/arch/x86/events/perf_event.h
+++ b/arch/x86/events/perf_event.h
@@ -556,7 +556,7 @@ struct x86_pmu {
struct x86_pmu_quirk *quirks;
int perfctr_second_write;
bool late_ack;
- unsigned (*limit_period)(struct perf_event *event, unsigned l);
+ u64 (*limit_period)(struct perf_event *event, u64 l);

/*
* sysfs attrs

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-05-28 14:29    [W:1.041 / U:20.916 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site