lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [May]   [28]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.9 231/329] x86/mm: Do not forbid _PAGE_RW before init for __ro_after_init
Date
4.9-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>

[ Upstream commit 639d6aafe437a7464399d2a77d006049053df06f ]

__ro_after_init data gets stuck in the .rodata section. That's normally
fine because the kernel itself manages the R/W properties.

But, if we run __change_page_attr() on an area which is __ro_after_init,
the .rodata checks will trigger and force the area to be immediately
read-only, even if it is early-ish in boot. This caused problems when
trying to clear the _PAGE_GLOBAL bit for these area in the PTI code:
it cleared _PAGE_GLOBAL like I asked, but also took it up on itself
to clear _PAGE_RW. The kernel then oopses the next time it wrote to
a __ro_after_init data structure.

To fix this, add the kernel_set_to_readonly check, just like we have
for kernel text, just a few lines below in this function.

Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Acked-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Nadav Amit <namit@vmware.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180406205514.8D898241@viggo.jf.intel.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <alexander.levin@microsoft.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
arch/x86/mm/pageattr.c | 6 ++++--
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/mm/pageattr.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/pageattr.c
@@ -279,9 +279,11 @@ static inline pgprot_t static_protection

/*
* The .rodata section needs to be read-only. Using the pfn
- * catches all aliases.
+ * catches all aliases. This also includes __ro_after_init,
+ * so do not enforce until kernel_set_to_readonly is true.
*/
- if (within(pfn, __pa_symbol(__start_rodata) >> PAGE_SHIFT,
+ if (kernel_set_to_readonly &&
+ within(pfn, __pa_symbol(__start_rodata) >> PAGE_SHIFT,
__pa_symbol(__end_rodata) >> PAGE_SHIFT))
pgprot_val(forbidden) |= _PAGE_RW;


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-05-28 12:37    [W:0.706 / U:23.272 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site