lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [May]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 2/2] kselftests: ftrace: Add tests for the preemptoff and irqsoff tracers
On Sat, May 19, 2018 at 12:32:41AM +0900, Masami Hiramatsu wrote:
> Hi Joel,
>
> 55ty jmnOn Thu, 17 May 2018 18:54:21 -0700
> "Joel Fernandes (Google)" <joel@joelfernandes.org> wrote:
>
> > Here we add unit tests for the preemptoff and irqsoff tracer by using a
> > kernel module introduced previously to trigger atomic sections in the
> > kernel.
> >
> > Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
> > Cc: Peter Zilstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> > Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> > Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
> > Cc: Tom Zanussi <tom.zanussi@linux.intel.com>
> > Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
> > Cc: Thomas Glexiner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> > Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
> > Cc: Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> > Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
> > Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
> > Cc: Erick Reyes <erickreyes@google.com>
> > Cc: Julia Cartwright <julia@ni.com>
> > Cc: kernel-team@android.com
> > Signed-off-by: Joel Fernandes (Google) <joel@joelfernandes.org>
> > ---
> > tools/testing/selftests/ftrace/config | 3 +
> > .../test.d/preemptirq/irqsoff_tracer.tc | 74 +++++++++++++++++++
> > 2 files changed, 77 insertions(+)
> > create mode 100644 tools/testing/selftests/ftrace/test.d/preemptirq/irqsoff_tracer.tc
> >
> > diff --git a/tools/testing/selftests/ftrace/config b/tools/testing/selftests/ftrace/config
> > index b01924c71c09..29588b328345 100644
> > --- a/tools/testing/selftests/ftrace/config
> > +++ b/tools/testing/selftests/ftrace/config
> > @@ -4,3 +4,6 @@ CONFIG_FUNCTION_PROFILER=y
> > CONFIG_TRACER_SNAPSHOT=y
> > CONFIG_STACK_TRACER=y
> > CONFIG_HIST_TRIGGERS=y
> > +CONFIG_PREEMPT_TRACER=y
> > +CONFIG_IRQSOFF_TRACER=y
> > +CONFIG_TEST_ATOMIC_SECTIONS=m
> > diff --git a/tools/testing/selftests/ftrace/test.d/preemptirq/irqsoff_tracer.tc b/tools/testing/selftests/ftrace/test.d/preemptirq/irqsoff_tracer.tc
> > new file mode 100644
> > index 000000000000..b76d781c5645
> > --- /dev/null
> > +++ b/tools/testing/selftests/ftrace/test.d/preemptirq/irqsoff_tracer.tc
> > @@ -0,0 +1,74 @@
> > +#!/bin/sh
> > +# SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0
> > +# description: test for the preemptirqsoff tracer
> > +
> > +MOD=test_atomic_sections
> > +
> > +fail() {
> > + reset_tracer
> > + rmmod $MOD || true
> > + exit_fail
> > +}
> > +
> > +unsup() { #msg
> > + reset_tracer
> > + rmmod $MOD || true
> > + echo $1
> > + exit_unsupported
> > +}
> > +
> > +modprobe $MOD || unsup "$MOD module not available"
> > +rmmod $MOD
> > +
> > +grep "preemptoff" available_tracers || unsup "preemptoff tracer not enabled"
> > +grep "irqsoff" available_tracers || unsup "irqsoff tracer not enabled"
>
> Could you pass "-q" for all grep command in this script if it just for checking the pattern exists?

Fixed, thanks!

Will send out update rolled into the series its testing.

- Joel

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-05-18 19:01    [W:0.044 / U:28.016 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site