lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [May]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/pti] x86/asm: Pad assembly functions with INT3 instructions
Commit-ID:  51bad67ffbce0aaa44579f84ef5d05597054ec6a
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/51bad67ffbce0aaa44579f84ef5d05597054ec6a
Author: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
AuthorDate: Tue, 8 May 2018 00:37:55 +0300
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Mon, 14 May 2018 11:43:03 +0200

x86/asm: Pad assembly functions with INT3 instructions

Use INT3 instead of NOP. All that padding between functions is
an illegal area, no legitimate code should jump into it.

I've checked x86_64 allyesconfig disassembly, all changes looks sane:
INT3 is only used after RET or unconditional JMP.

Signed-off-by: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
Acked-by: H. Peter Anvin <h.peter.anvin@intel.com>
Acked-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180507213755.GA32406@avx2
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/include/asm/linkage.h | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/linkage.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/linkage.h
index 14caa9d9fb7f..c0b70bc1e659 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/linkage.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/linkage.h
@@ -18,7 +18,7 @@
name:

#if defined(CONFIG_X86_64) || defined(CONFIG_X86_ALIGNMENT_16)
-#define __ALIGN .p2align 4, 0x90
+#define __ALIGN .p2align 4, 0xCC
#define __ALIGN_STR __stringify(__ALIGN)
#endif

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-05-14 14:55    [W:0.126 / U:3.052 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site