lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Apr]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v3 07/10] Documentation: dt-bindings: Add documents for PECI hwmon client drivers
From
Date
On 4/16/2018 11:14 AM, Rob Herring wrote:
> On Tue, Apr 10, 2018 at 11:32:09AM -0700, Jae Hyun Yoo wrote:
>> This commit adds dt-bindings documents for PECI cputemp and dimmtemp client
>> drivers.
>
> "dt-bindings: hwmon: ..." for the subject.
>

I'll change the subject.

>>
>> Signed-off-by: Jae Hyun Yoo <jae.hyun.yoo@linux.intel.com>
>> Reviewed-by: Haiyue Wang <haiyue.wang@linux.intel.com>
>> Reviewed-by: James Feist <james.feist@linux.intel.com>
>> Reviewed-by: Vernon Mauery <vernon.mauery@linux.intel.com>
>> Cc: Alan Cox <alan@linux.intel.com>
>> Cc: Andrew Jeffery <andrew@aj.id.au>
>> Cc: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>
>> Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@intel.com>
>> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
>> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
>> Cc: Fengguang Wu <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
>> Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
>> Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
>> Cc: Jason M Biils <jason.m.bills@linux.intel.com>
>> Cc: Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.com>
>> Cc: Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>
>> Cc: Julia Cartwright <juliac@eso.teric.us>
>> Cc: Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@gmail.com>
>> Cc: Milton Miller II <miltonm@us.ibm.com>
>> Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
>> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
>> Cc: Stef van Os <stef.van.os@prodrive-technologies.com>
>> Cc: Sumeet R Pawnikar <sumeet.r.pawnikar@intel.com>
>> ---
>> .../devicetree/bindings/hwmon/peci-cputemp.txt | 24 +++++++++++++++++++++
>> .../devicetree/bindings/hwmon/peci-dimmtemp.txt | 25 ++++++++++++++++++++++
>> 2 files changed, 49 insertions(+)
>> create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwmon/peci-cputemp.txt
>> create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwmon/peci-dimmtemp.txt
>>
>> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwmon/peci-cputemp.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwmon/peci-cputemp.txt
>> new file mode 100644
>> index 000000000000..d5530ef9cfd2
>> --- /dev/null
>> +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwmon/peci-cputemp.txt
>> @@ -0,0 +1,24 @@
>> +Bindings for Intel PECI (Platform Environment Control Interface) cputemp driver.
>> +
>> +Required properties:
>> +- compatible : Should be "intel,peci-cputemp".
>> +- reg : Should contain address of a client CPU. Address range of CPU
>> + clients is starting from 0x30 based on PECI specification.
>> + <0x30> .. <0x37> (depends on the PECI_OFFSET_MAX definition)
>
> Again, where is PECI_OFFSET_MAX defined? It can't depend on something in
> the kernel.
>

I'll remove the unnecessary description.

>> +
>> +Example:
>> + peci-bus@0 {
>> + #address-cells = <1>;
>> + #size-cells = <0>;
>> + < more properties >
>> +
>> + peci-cputemp@cpu0 {
>> + compatible = "intel,peci-cputemp";
>> + reg = <0x30>;
>> + };
>> +
>> + peci-cputemp@cpu1 {
>> + compatible = "intel,peci-cputemp";
>> + reg = <0x31>;
>> + };
>> + };
>> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwmon/peci-dimmtemp.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwmon/peci-dimmtemp.txt
>> new file mode 100644
>> index 000000000000..56e5deb61e5c
>> --- /dev/null
>> +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwmon/peci-dimmtemp.txt
>> @@ -0,0 +1,25 @@
>> +Bindings for Intel PECI (Platform Environment Control Interface) dimmtemp
>> +driver.
>> +
>> +Required properties:
>> +- compatible : Should be "intel,peci-dimmtemp".
>> +- reg : Should contain address of a client CPU. Address range of CPU
>> + clients is starting from 0x30 based on PECI specification.
>> + <0x30> .. <0x37> (depends on the PECI_OFFSET_MAX definition)
>> +
>> +Example:
>> + peci-bus@0 {
>> + #address-cells = <1>;
>> + #size-cells = <0>;
>> + < more properties >
>> +
>> + peci-dimmtemp@cpu0 {
>
> unit-address is wrong.
>

Will fix it using the reg value.

> It is a different bus from cputemp? Otherwise, you have conflicting
> addresses. If that's the case, probably should make it clear by showing
> different host adapters for each example.
>

It could be the same bus with cputemp. Also, client address sharing is
possible by PECI core if the functionality is different. I mean, cputemp
and dimmtemp targeting the same client is possible case like this.
peci-cputemp@30
peci-dimmtemp@30

>> + compatible = "intel,peci-dimmtemp";
>> + reg = <0x30>;
>> + };
>> +
>> + peci-dimmtemp@cpu1 {
>> + compatible = "intel,peci-dimmtemp";
>> + reg = <0x31>;
>> + };
>> + };
>> --
>> 2.16.2
>>
>> --
>> To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe devicetree" in
>> the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
>> More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-04-17 01:23    [W:0.065 / U:10.492 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site