lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Mar]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] [v2] docs: clarify security-bugs disclosure policy
On Wed, Mar 07, 2018 at 01:46:24PM -0800, Dave Hansen wrote:
>
> From: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
>
> I think we need to soften the language a bit. It might scare folks
> off, especially the:
>
> We prefer to fully disclose the bug as soon as possible.
>
> which is not really the case. Linus says:
>
> It's not full disclosure, it's not coordinated disclosure,
> and it's not "no disclosure". It's more like just "timely
> open fixes".
>
> I changed a bit of the wording in here, but mostly to remove the word
> "disclosure" since it seems to mean very specific things to people
> that we do not mean here.
>
> Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
> Reviewed-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Alan Cox <gnomes@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@google.com>
> Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> ---
>

Reviewed-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-03-08 18:16    [W:0.069 / U:1.264 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site