lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Mar]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.15 001/122] vsprintf: avoid misleading "(null)" for %px
Date
4.15-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Adam Borowski <kilobyte@angband.pl>

commit 3a129cc2151425e5aeb69aeb25fbc994ec738137 upstream.

Like %pK already does, print "00000000" instead.

This confused people -- the convention is that "(null)" means you tried to
dereference a null pointer as opposed to printing the address.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180204174521.21383-1-kilobyte@angband.pl
To: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>
To: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: "Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@ACULAB.COM>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Signed-off-by: Adam Borowski <kilobyte@angband.pl>
Signed-off-by: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
lib/vsprintf.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/lib/vsprintf.c
+++ b/lib/vsprintf.c
@@ -1849,7 +1849,7 @@ char *pointer(const char *fmt, char *buf
{
const int default_width = 2 * sizeof(void *);

- if (!ptr && *fmt != 'K') {
+ if (!ptr && *fmt != 'K' && *fmt != 'x') {
/*
* Print (null) with the same width as a pointer so it makes
* tabular output look nice.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-03-07 21:56    [W:0.388 / U:5.796 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site