lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Mar]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCHv2] reset: ti-rstctrl: use the reset-simple driver
On Wed, Mar 07, 2018 at 10:21:43AM -0800, Tony Lindgren wrote:
> We can support the RSTCTRL reset registers on many TI SoCs with
> reset-simple.
>
> Note that some devices will also need to check the RSTST bits
> for reset reason. Support for these could be possibly added to
> the reset controller framework later on.
>
> Cc: Dave Gerlach <d-gerlach@ti.com>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Nishant Menon <nm@ti.com>
> Cc: Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de>
> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
> Cc: Suman Anna <s-anna@ti.com>
> Cc: Tero Kristo <t-kristo@ti.com>
> Signed-off-by: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>
> ---
>
> Changes since v1:
> - Update patch description to mention the unhandled RSTST bits
> - Rebase against Linux next
>
> ---
> .../devicetree/bindings/reset/ti-rstctrl.txt | 20 ++++++++++++++++++++
> drivers/reset/Kconfig | 3 ++-
> drivers/reset/reset-simple.c | 1 +
> 3 files changed, 23 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
> create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/reset/ti-rstctrl.txt
>
> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/reset/ti-rstctrl.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/reset/ti-rstctrl.txt
> new file mode 100644
> --- /dev/null
> +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/reset/ti-rstctrl.txt
> @@ -0,0 +1,20 @@
> +TI RSTCTRL Reset Controller
> +
> +Required properties:
> +- compatible : "ti,rstctrl"
> +- reg : Should contain 1 register ranges(address and length)
> +- #reset-cells: 1
> +
> +Example:
> + prm_gfx: prm@1100 {
> + compatible = "simple-bus";

What's a PRM?

> + #address-cells = <1>;
> + #size-cells = <1>;
> + ranges = <0 0x1100 0x100>;

And what else is in this range?

> +
> + gfx_rstctrl: rstctrl@4 {
> + compatible = "ti,rstctrl";
> + reg = <0x4 0x4>;

Anytime I see a single register in DT I worry about scaling. How many of
these in an SoC?

> + #reset-cells = <1>;
> + };
> + };

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-03-08 03:48    [W:0.064 / U:9.372 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site