lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Mar]   [23]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [RFC PATCH 0/3] mmu_notifier contextual information
From
Date
Am 23.03.2018 um 18:17 schrieb jglisse@redhat.com:
> From: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
>
> This patchset are the improvements to mmu_notifier i wish to discuss
> at next LSF/MM. I am sending now to give time to people to look at
> them and think about them.
>
> git://people.freedesktop.org/~glisse/linux mmu-notifier-rfc
> https://cgit.freedesktop.org/~glisse/linux/log/?h=mmu-notifier-rfc
>
> First patch just use a struct for invalidate_range_start/end arguments
> this make the other 2 patches easier and smaller.
>
> The idea is to provide more information to mmu_notifier listener on
> the context of each invalidation. When a range is invalidated this
> can be for various reasons (munmap, protection change, OOM, ...). If
> listener can distinguish between those it can take better action.
>
> For instance if device driver allocate structure to track a range of
> virtual address prior to this patch it always have to assume that it
> has to free those on each mmu_notifieir callback (having to assume it
> is a munmap) and reallocate those latter when the device try to do
> something with that range again.
>
> OOM is also an interesting case, recently a patchset was added to
> avoid OOM on a mm if a blocking mmu_notifier listener have been
> registered [1]. This can be improve by adding a new OOM event type and
> having listener take special path on those. All mmu_notifier i know
> can easily have a special path for OOM that do not block (beside
> taking a short lived, across driver, spinlock). If mmu_notifier usage
> grows (from a point of view of more process using devices that rely on
> them) then we should also make sure OOM can do its bidding.

+1 for better handling that.

The fact that the OOM killer now avoids processes which might sleep
during their MM destruction gave me a few sleepless night recently.

Christian.

>
>
> The last part of the patchset is to allow more concurrency between a
> range being invalidated and someone wanting to look at CPU page table
> for a different range of address. I don't have any benchmark for those
> but i expect this will be common with HMM and mirror once we can run
> real workload. It can also replace lot of custom and weird counting
> of active mmu_notifier done listener side (KVM, ODP, ...) with some-
> thing cleaner.
>
>
> I have try to leverage all this in KVM but it did not seems to give any
> significant performance improvements (KVM patches at [2]). Tested with
> the host kernel using this patchset and KVM patches, and running thing
> like kernel compilation in the guest. Maybe it is not the kind of work-
> load that can benefit from this.
>
>
> [1] http://lkml.iu.edu/hypermail/linux/kernel/1712.1/02108.html
> [2] https://cgit.freedesktop.org/~glisse/linux/log/?h=mmu-notifier-rfc-kvm
>
> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
> Cc: Christian König <christian.koenig@amd.com>
> Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
> Cc: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@mellanox.com>
> Cc: Artemy Kovalyov <artemyko@mellanox.com>
> Cc: Evgeny Baskakov <ebaskakov@nvidia.com>
> Cc: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com>
> Cc: Mark Hairgrove <mhairgrove@nvidia.com>
> Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
> Cc: Mike Marciniszyn <mike.marciniszyn@intel.com>
> Cc: Dennis Dalessandro <dennis.dalessandro@intel.com>
> Cc: Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@amd.com>
> Cc: Sudeep Dutt <sudeep.dutt@intel.com>
> Cc: Ashutosh Dixit <ashutosh.dixit@intel.com>
> Cc: Dimitri Sivanich <sivanich@sgi.com>
>
> Jérôme Glisse (3):
> mm/mmu_notifier: use struct for invalidate_range_start/end parameters
> mm/mmu_notifier: provide context information about range invalidation
> mm/mmu_notifier: keep track of ranges being invalidated
>
> drivers/gpu/drm/amd/amdgpu/amdgpu_mn.c | 17 ++---
> drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_gem_userptr.c | 13 ++--
> drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon_mn.c | 11 +--
> drivers/infiniband/core/umem_odp.c | 16 ++--
> drivers/infiniband/hw/hfi1/mmu_rb.c | 12 ++-
> drivers/misc/mic/scif/scif_dma.c | 10 +--
> drivers/misc/sgi-gru/grutlbpurge.c | 13 ++--
> drivers/xen/gntdev.c | 7 +-
> fs/dax.c | 8 +-
> fs/proc/task_mmu.c | 8 +-
> include/linux/mm.h | 3 +-
> include/linux/mmu_notifier.h | 129 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++------
> kernel/events/uprobes.c | 11 +--
> mm/hmm.c | 15 ++--
> mm/huge_memory.c | 69 +++++++++--------
> mm/hugetlb.c | 47 ++++++------
> mm/khugepaged.c | 12 +--
> mm/ksm.c | 24 +++---
> mm/madvise.c | 21 +++---
> mm/memory.c | 97 +++++++++++++-----------
> mm/migrate.c | 47 ++++++------
> mm/mmu_notifier.c | 44 +++++++++--
> mm/mprotect.c | 14 ++--
> mm/mremap.c | 12 +--
> mm/oom_kill.c | 19 +++--
> mm/rmap.c | 22 ++++--
> virt/kvm/kvm_main.c | 12 +--
> 27 files changed, 420 insertions(+), 293 deletions(-)
>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-03-23 19:35    [W:0.067 / U:25.708 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site