lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Mar]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.15 095/146] x86/boot, objtool: Annotate indirect jump in secondary_startup_64()
Date
4.15-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>

commit bd89004f6305cbf7352238f61da093207ee518d6 upstream.

The objtool retpoline validation found this indirect jump. Seeing how
it's on CPU bringup before we run userspace it should be safe, annotate
it.

Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Reviewed-by: David Woodhouse <dwmw@amazon.co.uk>
Acked-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Acked-by: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/x86/kernel/head_64.S | 2 ++
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)

--- a/arch/x86/kernel/head_64.S
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/head_64.S
@@ -23,6 +23,7 @@
#include <asm/nops.h>
#include "../entry/calling.h"
#include <asm/export.h>
+#include <asm/nospec-branch.h>

#ifdef CONFIG_PARAVIRT
#include <asm/asm-offsets.h>
@@ -134,6 +135,7 @@ ENTRY(secondary_startup_64)

/* Ensure I am executing from virtual addresses */
movq $1f, %rax
+ ANNOTATE_RETPOLINE_SAFE
jmp *%rax
1:
UNWIND_HINT_EMPTY

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-03-13 17:39    [W:0.411 / U:0.032 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site