lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Mar]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:perf/core] hw_breakpoint: Factor out __modify_user_hw_breakpoint() function
Commit-ID:  18ff57b220610a699947f20b156a8245ca7eee98
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/18ff57b220610a699947f20b156a8245ca7eee98
Author: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
AuthorDate: Mon, 12 Mar 2018 14:45:44 +0100
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Tue, 13 Mar 2018 06:56:08 +0100

hw_breakpoint: Factor out __modify_user_hw_breakpoint() function

Moving out all the functionality without the events
disabling/enabling calls, because we want to call another
disabling/enabling functions in following change.

Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Hari Bathini <hbathini@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Jin Yao <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Milind Chabbi <chabbi.milind@gmail.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <onestero@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Sukadev Bhattiprolu <sukadev@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180312134548.31532-5-jolsa@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c | 46 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++----------------
1 file changed, 29 insertions(+), 17 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c b/kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c
index 776948beb4ac..a556aba223da 100644
--- a/kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c
+++ b/kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c
@@ -456,6 +456,33 @@ register_user_hw_breakpoint(struct perf_event_attr *attr,
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(register_user_hw_breakpoint);

+static int __modify_user_hw_breakpoint(struct perf_event *bp, struct perf_event_attr *attr)
+{
+ u64 old_addr = bp->attr.bp_addr;
+ u64 old_len = bp->attr.bp_len;
+ int old_type = bp->attr.bp_type;
+ bool modify = attr->bp_type != old_type;
+ int err = 0;
+
+ bp->attr.bp_addr = attr->bp_addr;
+ bp->attr.bp_type = attr->bp_type;
+ bp->attr.bp_len = attr->bp_len;
+
+ err = validate_hw_breakpoint(bp);
+ if (!err && modify)
+ err = modify_bp_slot(bp, old_type);
+
+ if (err) {
+ bp->attr.bp_addr = old_addr;
+ bp->attr.bp_type = old_type;
+ bp->attr.bp_len = old_len;
+ return err;
+ }
+
+ bp->attr.disabled = attr->disabled;
+ return 0;
+}
+
/**
* modify_user_hw_breakpoint - modify a user-space hardware breakpoint
* @bp: the breakpoint structure to modify
@@ -465,11 +492,7 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(register_user_hw_breakpoint);
*/
int modify_user_hw_breakpoint(struct perf_event *bp, struct perf_event_attr *attr)
{
- u64 old_addr = bp->attr.bp_addr;
- u64 old_len = bp->attr.bp_len;
- int old_type = bp->attr.bp_type;
- bool modify = attr->bp_type != old_type;
- int err = 0;
+ int err;

/*
* modify_user_hw_breakpoint can be invoked with IRQs disabled and hence it
@@ -482,18 +505,9 @@ int modify_user_hw_breakpoint(struct perf_event *bp, struct perf_event_attr *att
else
perf_event_disable(bp);

- bp->attr.bp_addr = attr->bp_addr;
- bp->attr.bp_type = attr->bp_type;
- bp->attr.bp_len = attr->bp_len;
-
- err = validate_hw_breakpoint(bp);
- if (!err && modify)
- err = modify_bp_slot(bp, old_type);
+ err = __modify_user_hw_breakpoint(bp, attr);

if (err) {
- bp->attr.bp_addr = old_addr;
- bp->attr.bp_type = old_type;
- bp->attr.bp_len = old_len;
if (!bp->attr.disabled)
perf_event_enable(bp);

@@ -502,8 +516,6 @@ int modify_user_hw_breakpoint(struct perf_event *bp, struct perf_event_attr *att

if (!attr->disabled)
perf_event_enable(bp);
-
- bp->attr.disabled = attr->disabled;
return 0;
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(modify_user_hw_breakpoint);
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-03-13 07:22    [W:0.191 / U:7.240 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site