lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Mar]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:perf/core] perf/core: Move perf_event_attr::sample_max_stack into perf_copy_attr()
Commit-ID:  5f970521d3279d99adcdebf329631e36cb9f0deb
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/5f970521d3279d99adcdebf329631e36cb9f0deb
Author: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
AuthorDate: Mon, 12 Mar 2018 14:45:46 +0100
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Tue, 13 Mar 2018 06:56:08 +0100

perf/core: Move perf_event_attr::sample_max_stack into perf_copy_attr()

Move the sample_max_stack check and setup into perf_copy_attr(),
so we have all perf_event_attr initial setup in one place
and can easily compare attrs in the new ioctl introduced
in following change.

Suggested-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Hari Bathini <hbathini@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Jin Yao <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Milind Chabbi <chabbi.milind@gmail.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <onestero@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Sukadev Bhattiprolu <sukadev@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180312134548.31532-7-jolsa@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/events/core.c | 6 +++---
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/events/core.c b/kernel/events/core.c
index 969f865f9f1c..ee145bdee6ed 100644
--- a/kernel/events/core.c
+++ b/kernel/events/core.c
@@ -10125,6 +10125,9 @@ static int perf_copy_attr(struct perf_event_attr __user *uattr,
ret = -EINVAL;
}

+ if (!attr->sample_max_stack)
+ attr->sample_max_stack = sysctl_perf_event_max_stack;
+
if (attr->sample_type & PERF_SAMPLE_REGS_INTR)
ret = perf_reg_validate(attr->sample_regs_intr);
out:
@@ -10338,9 +10341,6 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE5(perf_event_open,
perf_paranoid_kernel() && !capable(CAP_SYS_ADMIN))
return -EACCES;

- if (!attr.sample_max_stack)
- attr.sample_max_stack = sysctl_perf_event_max_stack;
-
/*
* In cgroup mode, the pid argument is used to pass the fd
* opened to the cgroup directory in cgroupfs. The cpu argument
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-03-13 07:22    [W:0.124 / U:6.312 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site