lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Mar]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [PATCH v4] cpufreq: schedutil: rate limits for SCHED_DEADLINE
On Tue, Mar 13, 2018 at 4:15 AM, Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org> wrote:
> On 13-03-18, 11:35, Claudio Scordino wrote:
>> When the SCHED_DEADLINE scheduling class increases the CPU utilization,
>> we should not wait for the rate limit, otherwise we may miss some
>> deadline.
>>
>> Tests using rt-app on Exynos5422 with up to 10 SCHED_DEADLINE tasks have
>> shown reductions of even 10% of deadline misses with a negligible
>> increase of energy consumption (measured through Baylibre Cape).
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Claudio Scordino <claudio@evidence.eu.com>
>> Acked-by: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
>> Reviewed-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
>> CC: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
>> CC: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
>> CC: Patrick Bellasi <patrick.bellasi@arm.com>
>> CC: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>
>> CC: Morten Rasmussen <morten.rasmussen@arm.com>
>> CC: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>
>> CC: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>
>> CC: Todd Kjos <tkjos@android.com>
>> CC: Joel Fernandes <joelaf@google.com>
>> CC: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
>> CC: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
>> ---
>> Changes from v3:
>> - Specific routine renamed as ignore_dl_rate_limit()
>
> LGTM. Thanks.

Nice! Thanks.

- Joel

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-03-14 02:28    [W:0.037 / U:12.532 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site