lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Feb]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH v6 1/2] staging: fsl-mc: Move core bus out of staging
Date
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Horia Geantă
> Sent: Tuesday, February 06, 2018 9:18 AM
> To: Bogdan Purcareata <bogdan.purcareata@nxp.com>; gregkh@linuxfoundation.org;
> Laurentiu Tudor <laurentiu.tudor@nxp.com>; Ruxandra Ioana Ciocoi Radulescu
> <ruxandra.radulescu@nxp.com>
> Cc: stuyoder@gmail.com; arnd@arndb.de; robh@kernel.org; Razvan Stefanescu
> <razvan.stefanescu@nxp.com>; Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@nxp.com>; Nipun Gupta
> <nipun.gupta@nxp.com>; Roy Pledge <roy.pledge@nxp.com>; marc.zyngier@arm.com;
> tglx@linutronix.de; jason@lakedaemon.net; devel@driverdev.osuosl.org; linux-
> kernel@vger.kernel.org; linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
> Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 1/2] staging: fsl-mc: Move core bus out of staging
>
> On 2/5/2018 4:08 PM, Bogdan Purcareata wrote:
> > Move the source files out of staging into their final locations:
> > -mc.h include file in drivers/staging/fsl-mc/include go to
> include/linux/fsl
> > -source files in drivers/staging/fsl-mc/bus go to drivers/bus/fsl-mc
> > -overview.rst, providing an overview of DPAA2, goes to
> > Documentation/networking/dpaa2/overview.rst
> [...]
> > rename {drivers/staging/fsl-mc =>
> Documentation/networking/dpaa2}/overview.rst (100%)
>
> Is this the proper location for documentation?
> The doc focuses on networking, however there's also information about fsl mc
> bus, dpio.

Yes, after internal discussions we concluded it would be the best fit, since
the end usage scenario is a networking one. So far the main user of the fsl-mc
bus and dpio is dpaa2-eth, which is an Ethernet driver. It's also next to the
previous DPAA generation driver documentation at Documentation/networking/dpaa.txt.

> In the future, we might want to add doc for other dpaa2 objects sitting on the
> fsl mc bus:
> -dpseci ("Data Path SEC Interface" - abstraction for the crypto engine)
> -dpdcei ("Data Path Decompression and Compression Engine Interface")
>
> Would these fit under networking doc folder too?

IMO it would make sense to place them in the same Documentation/networking/dpaa2/
folder, since they're part of the same architecture. Of course, the end location
can be changed based on later feedback.

Cheers,
Bogdan P.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-02-06 09:57    [W:0.034 / U:0.628 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site