lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Feb]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:sched/urgent] locking: Introduce sync_core_before_usermode()
Commit-ID:  e61938a921a46347d7725badc40ec436ebfff977
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/e61938a921a46347d7725badc40ec436ebfff977
Author: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 29 Jan 2018 15:20:15 -0500
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Mon, 5 Feb 2018 21:34:50 +0100

locking: Introduce sync_core_before_usermode()

Introduce an architecture function that ensures the current CPU
issues a core serializing instruction before returning to usermode.

This is needed for the membarrier "sync_core" command.

Architectures defining the sync_core_before_usermode() static inline
need to select ARCH_HAS_SYNC_CORE_BEFORE_USERMODE.

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Acked-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Andrea Parri <parri.andrea@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrew Hunter <ahh@google.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@scylladb.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Watson <davejwatson@fb.com>
Cc: David Sehr <sehr@google.com>
Cc: Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@google.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Maged Michael <maged.michael@gmail.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: linux-api@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180129202020.8515-7-mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
include/linux/sync_core.h | 21 +++++++++++++++++++++
init/Kconfig | 3 +++
2 files changed, 24 insertions(+)

diff --git a/include/linux/sync_core.h b/include/linux/sync_core.h
new file mode 100644
index 0000000..013da4b
--- /dev/null
+++ b/include/linux/sync_core.h
@@ -0,0 +1,21 @@
+/* SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0 */
+#ifndef _LINUX_SYNC_CORE_H
+#define _LINUX_SYNC_CORE_H
+
+#ifdef CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_SYNC_CORE_BEFORE_USERMODE
+#include <asm/sync_core.h>
+#else
+/*
+ * This is a dummy sync_core_before_usermode() implementation that can be used
+ * on all architectures which return to user-space through core serializing
+ * instructions.
+ * If your architecture returns to user-space through non-core-serializing
+ * instructions, you need to write your own functions.
+ */
+static inline void sync_core_before_usermode(void)
+{
+}
+#endif
+
+#endif /* _LINUX_SYNC_CORE_H */
+
diff --git a/init/Kconfig b/init/Kconfig
index 837adcf..535421f 100644
--- a/init/Kconfig
+++ b/init/Kconfig
@@ -1918,3 +1918,6 @@ config ASN1
functions to call on what tags.

source "kernel/Kconfig.locks"
+
+config ARCH_HAS_SYNC_CORE_BEFORE_USERMODE
+ bool
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-02-05 22:41    [W:0.538 / U:0.444 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site