lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Feb]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:sched/urgent] membarrier/selftest: Test global expedited command
Commit-ID:  92485487ba834f6665ec13dfb2c69e80cd0c7c37
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/92485487ba834f6665ec13dfb2c69e80cd0c7c37
Author: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 29 Jan 2018 15:20:14 -0500
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Mon, 5 Feb 2018 21:34:40 +0100

membarrier/selftest: Test global expedited command

Test the new MEMBARRIER_CMD_GLOBAL_EXPEDITED and
MEMBARRIER_CMD_REGISTER_GLOBAL_EXPEDITED commands.

Adapt to the MEMBARRIER_CMD_SHARED -> MEMBARRIER_CMD_GLOBAL rename.

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Acked-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Acked-by: Shuah Khan <shuahkh@osg.samsung.com>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Cc: Alice Ferrazzi <alice.ferrazzi@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrea Parri <parri.andrea@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrew Hunter <ahh@google.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@scylladb.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Watson <davejwatson@fb.com>
Cc: David Sehr <sehr@google.com>
Cc: Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@google.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Maged Michael <maged.michael@gmail.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul Elder <paul.elder@pitt.edu>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: linux-api@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180129202020.8515-6-mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
.../testing/selftests/membarrier/membarrier_test.c | 59 ++++++++++++++++++++--
1 file changed, 54 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/testing/selftests/membarrier/membarrier_test.c b/tools/testing/selftests/membarrier/membarrier_test.c
index e6ee73d..eec39a0 100644
--- a/tools/testing/selftests/membarrier/membarrier_test.c
+++ b/tools/testing/selftests/membarrier/membarrier_test.c
@@ -59,10 +59,10 @@ static int test_membarrier_flags_fail(void)
return 0;
}

-static int test_membarrier_shared_success(void)
+static int test_membarrier_global_success(void)
{
- int cmd = MEMBARRIER_CMD_SHARED, flags = 0;
- const char *test_name = "sys membarrier MEMBARRIER_CMD_SHARED";
+ int cmd = MEMBARRIER_CMD_GLOBAL, flags = 0;
+ const char *test_name = "sys membarrier MEMBARRIER_CMD_GLOBAL";

if (sys_membarrier(cmd, flags) != 0) {
ksft_exit_fail_msg(
@@ -132,6 +132,40 @@ static int test_membarrier_private_expedited_success(void)
return 0;
}

+static int test_membarrier_register_global_expedited_success(void)
+{
+ int cmd = MEMBARRIER_CMD_REGISTER_GLOBAL_EXPEDITED, flags = 0;
+ const char *test_name = "sys membarrier MEMBARRIER_CMD_REGISTER_GLOBAL_EXPEDITED";
+
+ if (sys_membarrier(cmd, flags) != 0) {
+ ksft_exit_fail_msg(
+ "%s test: flags = %d, errno = %d\n",
+ test_name, flags, errno);
+ }
+
+ ksft_test_result_pass(
+ "%s test: flags = %d\n",
+ test_name, flags);
+ return 0;
+}
+
+static int test_membarrier_global_expedited_success(void)
+{
+ int cmd = MEMBARRIER_CMD_GLOBAL_EXPEDITED, flags = 0;
+ const char *test_name = "sys membarrier MEMBARRIER_CMD_GLOBAL_EXPEDITED";
+
+ if (sys_membarrier(cmd, flags) != 0) {
+ ksft_exit_fail_msg(
+ "%s test: flags = %d, errno = %d\n",
+ test_name, flags, errno);
+ }
+
+ ksft_test_result_pass(
+ "%s test: flags = %d\n",
+ test_name, flags);
+ return 0;
+}
+
static int test_membarrier(void)
{
int status;
@@ -142,7 +176,7 @@ static int test_membarrier(void)
status = test_membarrier_flags_fail();
if (status)
return status;
- status = test_membarrier_shared_success();
+ status = test_membarrier_global_success();
if (status)
return status;
status = test_membarrier_private_expedited_fail();
@@ -154,6 +188,19 @@ static int test_membarrier(void)
status = test_membarrier_private_expedited_success();
if (status)
return status;
+ /*
+ * It is valid to send a global membarrier from a non-registered
+ * process.
+ */
+ status = test_membarrier_global_expedited_success();
+ if (status)
+ return status;
+ status = test_membarrier_register_global_expedited_success();
+ if (status)
+ return status;
+ status = test_membarrier_global_expedited_success();
+ if (status)
+ return status;
return 0;
}

@@ -173,8 +220,10 @@ static int test_membarrier_query(void)
}
ksft_exit_fail_msg("sys_membarrier() failed\n");
}
- if (!(ret & MEMBARRIER_CMD_SHARED))
+ if (!(ret & MEMBARRIER_CMD_GLOBAL)) {
+ ksft_test_result_fail("sys_membarrier() CMD_GLOBAL query failed\n");
ksft_exit_fail_msg("sys_membarrier is not supported.\n");
+ }

ksft_test_result_pass("sys_membarrier available\n");
return 0;
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-02-05 22:41    [W:0.086 / U:6.548 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site