lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Feb]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 06/10] perf evsel: Fix period/freq terms setup
Date
From: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>

Stephane reported that we don't set properly PERIOD sample type for
events with period term defined.

Before:
$ perf record -e cpu/cpu-cycles,period=1000/u ls
$ perf evlist -v
cpu/cpu-cycles,period=1000/u: ... sample_type: IP|TID|TIME|PERIOD, ...

After:
$ perf record -e cpu/cpu-cycles,period=1000/u ls
$ perf evlist -v
cpu/cpu-cycles,period=1000/u: ... sample_type: IP|TID|TIME, ...

Setting PERIOD sample type based on period term setup.

Committer note:

When we use -c or a period=N term in the event definition, then we don't
need to ask the kernel, for this event, via perf_event_attr.sample_type
|= PERF_SAMPLE_PERIOD, to put the event period in each sample for this
event, as we know it already, it is in perf_event_attr.sample_period.

Reported-by: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Tested-by: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180201083812.11359-2-jolsa@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/util/evsel.c | 2 ++
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/evsel.c b/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
index 66fa45198a11..f2f2eaafde6d 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
@@ -745,12 +745,14 @@ static void apply_config_terms(struct perf_evsel *evsel,
if (!(term->weak && opts->user_interval != ULLONG_MAX)) {
attr->sample_period = term->val.period;
attr->freq = 0;
+ perf_evsel__reset_sample_bit(evsel, PERIOD);
}
break;
case PERF_EVSEL__CONFIG_TERM_FREQ:
if (!(term->weak && opts->user_freq != UINT_MAX)) {
attr->sample_freq = term->val.freq;
attr->freq = 1;
+ perf_evsel__set_sample_bit(evsel, PERIOD);
}
break;
case PERF_EVSEL__CONFIG_TERM_TIME:
--
2.14.3
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-02-05 20:59    [W:0.039 / U:0.540 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site