lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Feb]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 08/10] x86/events/intel/ds: Add PERF_SAMPLE_PERIOD into PEBS_FREERUNNING_FLAGS
Date
From: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>

Stephane reported that we don't support period for enabling large PEBS
data, which there's no reason for. Adding PERF_SAMPLE_PERIOD into
freerunning flags.

Tested it with:

# perf record -e cycles:P -c 100 --no-timestamp -C 0 --period

Reported-by: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Tested-by: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com>
Tested-by: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180201083812.11359-4-jolsa@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
arch/x86/events/perf_event.h | 3 ++-
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/events/perf_event.h b/arch/x86/events/perf_event.h
index 8e4ea143ed96..78f91ec1056e 100644
--- a/arch/x86/events/perf_event.h
+++ b/arch/x86/events/perf_event.h
@@ -93,7 +93,8 @@ struct amd_nb {
PERF_SAMPLE_ID | PERF_SAMPLE_CPU | PERF_SAMPLE_STREAM_ID | \
PERF_SAMPLE_DATA_SRC | PERF_SAMPLE_IDENTIFIER | \
PERF_SAMPLE_TRANSACTION | PERF_SAMPLE_PHYS_ADDR | \
- PERF_SAMPLE_REGS_INTR | PERF_SAMPLE_REGS_USER)
+ PERF_SAMPLE_REGS_INTR | PERF_SAMPLE_REGS_USER | \
+ PERF_SAMPLE_PERIOD)

#define PEBS_REGS \
(PERF_REG_X86_AX | \
--
2.14.3
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-02-05 20:58    [W:0.100 / U:5.764 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site