lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Feb]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 05/64] KVM: x86: Make indirect calls in emulator speculation safe
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Peter Zijlstra peterz@infradead.org

commit 1a29b5b7f347a1a9230c1e0af5b37e3e571588ab

Replace the indirect calls with CALL_NOSPEC.

Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: David Woodhouse <dwmw@amazon.co.uk>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Jun Nakajima <jun.nakajima@intel.com>
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: rga@amazon.de
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Asit Mallick <asit.k.mallick@intel.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@akamai.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Arjan Van De Ven <arjan.van.de.ven@intel.com>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180125095843.595615683@infradead.org
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>


---
arch/x86/kvm/emulate.c | 9 +++++----
1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/kvm/emulate.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kvm/emulate.c
@@ -25,6 +25,7 @@
#include <asm/kvm_emulate.h>
#include <linux/stringify.h>
#include <asm/debugreg.h>
+#include <asm/nospec-branch.h>

#include "x86.h"
#include "tss.h"
@@ -1021,8 +1022,8 @@ static __always_inline u8 test_cc(unsign
void (*fop)(void) = (void *)em_setcc + 4 * (condition & 0xf);

flags = (flags & EFLAGS_MASK) | X86_EFLAGS_IF;
- asm("push %[flags]; popf; call *%[fastop]"
- : "=a"(rc) : [fastop]"r"(fop), [flags]"r"(flags));
+ asm("push %[flags]; popf; " CALL_NOSPEC
+ : "=a"(rc) : [thunk_target]"r"(fop), [flags]"r"(flags));
return rc;
}

@@ -5350,9 +5351,9 @@ static int fastop(struct x86_emulate_ctx
if (!(ctxt->d & ByteOp))
fop += __ffs(ctxt->dst.bytes) * FASTOP_SIZE;

- asm("push %[flags]; popf; call *%[fastop]; pushf; pop %[flags]\n"
+ asm("push %[flags]; popf; " CALL_NOSPEC " ; pushf; pop %[flags]\n"
: "+a"(ctxt->dst.val), "+d"(ctxt->src.val), [flags]"+D"(flags),
- [fastop]"+S"(fop), ASM_CALL_CONSTRAINT
+ [thunk_target]"+S"(fop), ASM_CALL_CONSTRAINT
: "c"(ctxt->src2.val));

ctxt->eflags = (ctxt->eflags & ~EFLAGS_MASK) | (flags & EFLAGS_MASK);

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-02-05 20:05    [W:0.159 / U:2.324 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site