lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Feb]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 60/64] KVM/VMX: Emulate MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: KarimAllah Ahmed karahmed@amazon.de

commit 28c1c9fabf48d6ad596273a11c46e0d0da3e14cd

Intel processors use MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES MSR to indicate RDCL_NO
(bit 0) and IBRS_ALL (bit 1). This is a read-only MSR. By default the
contents will come directly from the hardware, but user-space can still
override it.

[dwmw2: The bit in kvm_cpuid_7_0_edx_x86_features can be unconditional]

Signed-off-by: KarimAllah Ahmed <karahmed@amazon.de>
Signed-off-by: David Woodhouse <dwmw@amazon.co.uk>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Darren Kenny <darren.kenny@oracle.com>
Reviewed-by: Jim Mattson <jmattson@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jun Nakajima <jun.nakajima@intel.com>
Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Asit Mallick <asit.k.mallick@intel.com>
Cc: Arjan Van De Ven <arjan.van.de.ven@intel.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1517522386-18410-4-git-send-email-karahmed@amazon.de
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>


---
arch/x86/kvm/cpuid.c | 2 +-
arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c | 15 +++++++++++++++
arch/x86/kvm/x86.c | 1 +
3 files changed, 17 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/arch/x86/kvm/cpuid.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kvm/cpuid.c
@@ -394,7 +394,7 @@ static inline int __do_cpuid_ent(struct

/* cpuid 7.0.edx*/
const u32 kvm_cpuid_7_0_edx_x86_features =
- F(AVX512_4VNNIW) | F(AVX512_4FMAPS);
+ F(AVX512_4VNNIW) | F(AVX512_4FMAPS) | F(ARCH_CAPABILITIES);

/* all calls to cpuid_count() should be made on the same cpu */
get_cpu();
--- a/arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c
@@ -583,6 +583,8 @@ struct vcpu_vmx {
u64 msr_guest_kernel_gs_base;
#endif

+ u64 arch_capabilities;
+
u32 vm_entry_controls_shadow;
u32 vm_exit_controls_shadow;
u32 secondary_exec_control;
@@ -3257,6 +3259,12 @@ static int vmx_get_msr(struct kvm_vcpu *
case MSR_IA32_TSC:
msr_info->data = guest_read_tsc(vcpu);
break;
+ case MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES:
+ if (!msr_info->host_initiated &&
+ !guest_cpuid_has(vcpu, X86_FEATURE_ARCH_CAPABILITIES))
+ return 1;
+ msr_info->data = to_vmx(vcpu)->arch_capabilities;
+ break;
case MSR_IA32_SYSENTER_CS:
msr_info->data = vmcs_read32(GUEST_SYSENTER_CS);
break;
@@ -3392,6 +3400,11 @@ static int vmx_set_msr(struct kvm_vcpu *
vmx_disable_intercept_for_msr(vmx->vmcs01.msr_bitmap, MSR_IA32_PRED_CMD,
MSR_TYPE_W);
break;
+ case MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES:
+ if (!msr_info->host_initiated)
+ return 1;
+ vmx->arch_capabilities = data;
+ break;
case MSR_IA32_CR_PAT:
if (vmcs_config.vmentry_ctrl & VM_ENTRY_LOAD_IA32_PAT) {
if (!kvm_mtrr_valid(vcpu, MSR_IA32_CR_PAT, data))
@@ -5652,6 +5665,8 @@ static int vmx_vcpu_setup(struct vcpu_vm
++vmx->nmsrs;
}

+ if (boot_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_ARCH_CAPABILITIES))
+ rdmsrl(MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES, vmx->arch_capabilities);

vm_exit_controls_init(vmx, vmcs_config.vmexit_ctrl);

--- a/arch/x86/kvm/x86.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kvm/x86.c
@@ -1006,6 +1006,7 @@ static u32 msrs_to_save[] = {
#endif
MSR_IA32_TSC, MSR_IA32_CR_PAT, MSR_VM_HSAVE_PA,
MSR_IA32_FEATURE_CONTROL, MSR_IA32_BNDCFGS, MSR_TSC_AUX,
+ MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES
};

static unsigned num_msrs_to_save;

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-02-05 20:02    [W:0.233 / U:2.096 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site