lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Feb]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL for 4.14 082/110] x86/efi: Fix kernel param add_efi_memmap regression
Date
From: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com>

[ Upstream commit 835bcec5fdf3f9e880111b482177e7e70e3596da ]

'add_efi_memmap' is an early param, but do_add_efi_memmap() has no
chance to run because the code path is before parse_early_param().
I believe it worked when the param was introduced but probably later
some other changes caused the wrong order and nobody noticed it.

Move efi_memblock_x86_reserve_range() after parse_early_param()
to fix it.

Signed-off-by: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Bryan O'Donoghue <pure.logic@nexus-software.ie>
Cc: Ge Song <ge.song@hxt-semitech.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: linux-efi@vger.kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180102172110.17018-2-ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <alexander.levin@microsoft.com>
---
arch/x86/kernel/setup.c | 5 ++---
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/setup.c b/arch/x86/kernel/setup.c
index e84cb4c75cd0..c54361a22f59 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/setup.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/setup.c
@@ -928,9 +928,6 @@ void __init setup_arch(char **cmdline_p)
set_bit(EFI_BOOT, &efi.flags);
set_bit(EFI_64BIT, &efi.flags);
}
-
- if (efi_enabled(EFI_BOOT))
- efi_memblock_x86_reserve_range();
#endif

x86_init.oem.arch_setup();
@@ -984,6 +981,8 @@ void __init setup_arch(char **cmdline_p)

parse_early_param();

+ if (efi_enabled(EFI_BOOT))
+ efi_memblock_x86_reserve_range();
#ifdef CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG
/*
* Memory used by the kernel cannot be hot-removed because Linux
--
2.11.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-02-03 19:45    [W:0.468 / U:10.860 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site