lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Feb]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH 06/18] thunderbolt: Wait a bit longer for ICM to authenticate the active NVM
Date
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Mika Westerberg [mailto:mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com]
> Sent: Tuesday, February 13, 2018 11:00 AM
> To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: Andreas Noever <andreas.noever@gmail.com>; Michael Jamet
> <michael.jamet@intel.com>; Yehezkel Bernat <yehezkel.bernat@intel.com>; Bjorn
> Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>; Limonciello, Mario
> <Mario_Limonciello@Dell.com>; Radion Mirchevsky
> <radion.mirchevsky@intel.com>; Mika Westerberg
> <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>
> Subject: [PATCH 06/18] thunderbolt: Wait a bit longer for ICM to authenticate the
> active NVM
>
> Sometimes during cold boot ICM has not yet authenticated the active NVM
> image leading to timeout and failing the driver probe. Allow ICM to take
> some more time and increase the timeout to 3 seconds before we give up.
>
> While there fix icm_firmware_init() to return the real error code
> without overwriting it with -ENODEV.
>
> Signed-off-by: Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>
> ---
> drivers/thunderbolt/icm.c | 7 +++++--
> 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/thunderbolt/icm.c b/drivers/thunderbolt/icm.c
> index 1183321586c5..611d28e8e5f2 100644
> --- a/drivers/thunderbolt/icm.c
> +++ b/drivers/thunderbolt/icm.c
> @@ -736,14 +736,14 @@ static bool icm_ar_is_supported(struct tb *tb)
> static int icm_ar_get_mode(struct tb *tb)
> {
> struct tb_nhi *nhi = tb->nhi;
> - int retries = 5;
> + int retries = 60;
> u32 val;
>
> do {
> val = ioread32(nhi->iobase + REG_FW_STS);
> if (val & REG_FW_STS_NVM_AUTH_DONE)
> break;
> - msleep(30);
> + msleep(50);
> } while (--retries);
>
> if (!retries) {
> @@ -1063,6 +1063,9 @@ static int icm_firmware_init(struct tb *tb)
> break;
>
> default:
> + if (ret < 0)
> + return ret;
> +
> tb_err(tb, "ICM firmware is in wrong mode: %u\n", ret);
> return -ENODEV;
> }
> --
> 2.15.1

Mika,

Some of your patches in this series already have the stable tag, but I think
especially this one is probably a good candidate to add to @stable.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-02-13 18:22    [W:0.198 / U:3.396 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site