lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Feb]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Subject[PATCH v6 0/5] KVM: Expose speculation control feature to guests
Date
Add direct access to speculation control MSRs for KVM guests. This allows the
guest to protect itself against Spectre V2 using IBRS+IBPB instead of a
retpoline+IBPB based approach.

It also exposes the ARCH_CAPABILITIES MSR which is used by Intel processors to
indicate RDCL_NO and IBRS_ALL.

Keep in mind that the SVM part of the patch is unchanged this time. Mostly to
get feedback/confirmation about the nested handling for VMX first, once this is
done I will update SVM as well.

v6:
- Do not penalize (save/restore IBRS) all L2 guests when anyone of them starts
using the SPEC_CTRL.

v5:
- svm: add PRED_CMD and SPEC_CTRL to direct_access_msrs list.
- vmx: check also for X86_FEATURE_SPEC_CTRL for msr reads and writes.
- vmx: Use MSR_TYPE_W instead of MSR_TYPE_R for the nested IBPB MSR
- rewrite commit message for IBPB patch [2/5] (Ashok)

v4:
- Add IBRS passthrough for SVM (5/5).
- Handle nested guests properly.
- expose F(IBRS) in kvm_cpuid_8000_0008_ebx_x86_features

Ashok Raj (1):
KVM: x86: Add IBPB support

KarimAllah Ahmed (4):
KVM: x86: Update the reverse_cpuid list to include CPUID_7_EDX
KVM: VMX: Emulate MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES
KVM: VMX: Allow direct access to MSR_IA32_SPEC_CTRL
KVM: SVM: Allow direct access to MSR_IA32_SPEC_CTRL

arch/x86/kvm/cpuid.c | 22 ++++--
arch/x86/kvm/cpuid.h | 1 +
arch/x86/kvm/svm.c | 87 +++++++++++++++++++++++
arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c | 196 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++-
arch/x86/kvm/x86.c | 1 +
5 files changed, 299 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com>
Cc: Asit Mallick <asit.k.mallick@intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw@amazon.co.uk>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Janakarajan Natarajan <Janakarajan.Natarajan@amd.com>
Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
Cc: Jun Nakajima <jun.nakajima@intel.com>
Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: x86@kernel.org

--
2.7.4

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-02-01 23:01    [W:0.208 / U:3.060 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site