lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Dec]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v6 08/13] arm64: expose user PAC bit positions via ptrace
From
Date
On 12/7/18 12:39 PM, Kristina Martsenko wrote:
> From: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
>
> When pointer authentication is in use, data/instruction pointers have a
> number of PAC bits inserted into them. The number and position of these
> bits depends on the configured TCR_ELx.TxSZ and whether tagging is
> enabled. ARMv8.3 allows tagging to differ for instruction and data
> pointers.
>
> For userspace debuggers to unwind the stack and/or to follow pointer
> chains, they need to be able to remove the PAC bits before attempting to
> use a pointer.
>
> This patch adds a new structure with masks describing the location of
> the PAC bits in userspace instruction and data pointers (i.e. those
> addressable via TTBR0), which userspace can query via PTRACE_GETREGSET.
> By clearing these bits from pointers (and replacing them with the value
> of bit 55), userspace can acquire the PAC-less versions.
>
> This new regset is exposed when the kernel is built with (user) pointer
> authentication support, and the address authentication feature is
> enabled. Otherwise, the regset is hidden.
>
> Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Signed-off-by: Kristina Martsenko <kristina.martsenko@arm.com>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Ramana Radhakrishnan <ramana.radhakrishnan@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> ---
> arch/arm64/include/asm/pointer_auth.h | 8 ++++++++
> arch/arm64/include/uapi/asm/ptrace.h | 7 +++++++
> arch/arm64/kernel/ptrace.c | 38 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
> include/uapi/linux/elf.h | 1 +
> 4 files changed, 54 insertions(+)

Reviewed-by: Richard Henderson <richard.henderson@linaro.org>


r~

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-12-09 16:04    [W:0.306 / U:5.564 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site