lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Dec]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH 4/8] lib/lzo: 64-bit CTZ on arm64
From
Date
Acked-by: Markus F.X.J. Oberhumer <markus@oberhumer.com>



On 2018-11-30 15:26, Dave Rodgman wrote:
> From: Matt Sealey <matt.sealey@arm.com>
>
> LZO leaves some performance on the table by not realising that arm64 can
> optimize count-trailing-zeros bit operations.
>
> Add CONFIG_ARM64 to the checked definitions alongside CONFIG_X86_64 to
> enable the use of rbit/clz instructions on full 64-bit quantities.
>
> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181127161913.23863-5-dave.rodgman@arm.com
> Signed-off-by: Matt Sealey <matt.sealey@arm.com>
> Signed-off-by: Dave Rodgman <dave.rodgman@arm.com>
> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
> Cc: Markus F.X.J. Oberhumer <markus@oberhumer.com>
> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
> Cc: Nitin Gupta <nitingupta910@gmail.com>
> Cc: Richard Purdie <rpurdie@openedhand.com>
> Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky.work@gmail.com>
> Cc: Sonny Rao <sonnyrao@google.com>
> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Signed-off-by: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
> ---
> lib/lzo/lzodefs.h | 2 +-
> 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/lib/lzo/lzodefs.h b/lib/lzo/lzodefs.h
> index c0193f726db0..c8965dc181df 100644
> --- a/lib/lzo/lzodefs.h
> +++ b/lib/lzo/lzodefs.h
> @@ -28,7 +28,7 @@
>
> #if defined(__BIG_ENDIAN) && defined(__LITTLE_ENDIAN)
> #error "conflicting endian definitions"
> -#elif defined(CONFIG_X86_64)
> +#elif defined(CONFIG_X86_64) || defined(CONFIG_ARM64)
> #define LZO_USE_CTZ64 1
> #define LZO_USE_CTZ32 1
> #elif defined(CONFIG_X86) || defined(CONFIG_PPC)
>

--
Markus Oberhumer, <markus@oberhumer.com>, http://www.oberhumer.com/

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-12-06 16:54    [W:0.075 / U:0.836 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site