lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Dec]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.9 063/101] hugetlbfs: fix offset overflow in hugetlbfs mmap
Date
4.9-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>

commit 045c7a3f53d9403b62d396b6d051c4be5044cdb4 upstream.

If mmap() maps a file, it can be passed an offset into the file at which
the mapping is to start. Offset could be a negative value when
represented as a loff_t. The offset plus length will be used to update
the file size (i_size) which is also a loff_t.

Validate the value of offset and offset + length to make sure they do
not overflow and appear as negative.

Found by syzcaller with commit ff8c0c53c475 ("mm/hugetlb.c: don't call
region_abort if region_chg fails") applied. Prior to this commit, the
overflow would still occur but we would luckily return ENOMEM.

To reproduce:

mmap(0, 0x2000, 0, 0x40021, 0xffffffffffffffffULL, 0x8000000000000000ULL);

Resulted in,

kernel BUG at mm/hugetlb.c:742!
Call Trace:
hugetlbfs_evict_inode+0x80/0xa0
evict+0x24a/0x620
iput+0x48f/0x8c0
dentry_unlink_inode+0x31f/0x4d0
__dentry_kill+0x292/0x5e0
dput+0x730/0x830
__fput+0x438/0x720
____fput+0x1a/0x20
task_work_run+0xfe/0x180
exit_to_usermode_loop+0x133/0x150
syscall_return_slowpath+0x184/0x1c0
entry_SYSCALL_64_fastpath+0xab/0xad

Fixes: ff8c0c53c475 ("mm/hugetlb.c: don't call region_abort if region_chg fails")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1491951118-30678-1-git-send-email-mike.kravetz@oracle.com
Reported-by: Vegard Nossum <vegard.nossum@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Acked-by: Hillf Danton <hillf.zj@alibaba-inc.com>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben.hutchings@codethink.co.uk>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
fs/hugetlbfs/inode.c | 15 ++++++++++++---
1 file changed, 12 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

--- a/fs/hugetlbfs/inode.c
+++ b/fs/hugetlbfs/inode.c
@@ -136,17 +136,26 @@ static int hugetlbfs_file_mmap(struct fi
vma->vm_flags |= VM_HUGETLB | VM_DONTEXPAND;
vma->vm_ops = &hugetlb_vm_ops;

+ /*
+ * Offset passed to mmap (before page shift) could have been
+ * negative when represented as a (l)off_t.
+ */
+ if (((loff_t)vma->vm_pgoff << PAGE_SHIFT) < 0)
+ return -EINVAL;
+
if (vma->vm_pgoff & (~huge_page_mask(h) >> PAGE_SHIFT))
return -EINVAL;

vma_len = (loff_t)(vma->vm_end - vma->vm_start);
+ len = vma_len + ((loff_t)vma->vm_pgoff << PAGE_SHIFT);
+ /* check for overflow */
+ if (len < vma_len)
+ return -EINVAL;

inode_lock(inode);
file_accessed(file);

ret = -ENOMEM;
- len = vma_len + ((loff_t)vma->vm_pgoff << PAGE_SHIFT);
-
if (hugetlb_reserve_pages(inode,
vma->vm_pgoff >> huge_page_order(h),
len >> huge_page_shift(h), vma,
@@ -155,7 +164,7 @@ static int hugetlbfs_file_mmap(struct fi

ret = 0;
if (vma->vm_flags & VM_WRITE && inode->i_size < len)
- inode->i_size = len;
+ i_size_write(inode, len);
out:
inode_unlock(inode);


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-12-06 15:46    [W:0.266 / U:5.668 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site