lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Oct]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 3.18 87/98] x86/ldt: Fix small LDT allocation for Xen
Date
From: Jan Beulich <JBeulich@suse.com>

[ Upstream commit f454b478861325f067fd58ba7ee9f1b5c4a9d6a0 ]

While the following commit:

37868fe113 ("x86/ldt: Make modify_ldt synchronous")

added a nice comment explaining that Xen needs page-aligned
whole page chunks for guest descriptor tables, it then
nevertheless used kzalloc() on the small size path.

As I'm unaware of guarantees for kmalloc(PAGE_SIZE, ) to return
page-aligned memory blocks, I believe this needs to be switched
back to __get_free_page() (or better get_zeroed_page()).

Signed-off-by: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@suse.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: David Vrabel <david.vrabel@citrix.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/55E735D6020000780009F1E6@prv-mh.provo.novell.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/kernel/ldt.c | 4 ++--
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/ldt.c b/arch/x86/kernel/ldt.c
index 2bcc0525f1c1..6acc9dd91f36 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/ldt.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/ldt.c
@@ -58,7 +58,7 @@ static struct ldt_struct *alloc_ldt_struct(int size)
if (alloc_size > PAGE_SIZE)
new_ldt->entries = vzalloc(alloc_size);
else
- new_ldt->entries = kzalloc(PAGE_SIZE, GFP_KERNEL);
+ new_ldt->entries = (void *)get_zeroed_page(GFP_KERNEL);

if (!new_ldt->entries) {
kfree(new_ldt);
@@ -95,7 +95,7 @@ static void free_ldt_struct(struct ldt_struct *ldt)
if (ldt->size * LDT_ENTRY_SIZE > PAGE_SIZE)
vfree(ldt->entries);
else
- kfree(ldt->entries);
+ free_page((unsigned long)ldt->entries);
kfree(ldt);
}

--
2.17.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-10-25 16:26    [W:0.268 / U:6.832 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site