lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Oct]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] proc: use ns_capable instead of capable for timerslack_ns
On Wed, Oct 17, 2018 at 04:47:38PM -0600, bmgordon@google.com wrote:
> Access to timerslack_ns is controlled by a process having CAP_SYS_NICE
> in its effective capability set, but the current check looks in the root
> namespace instead of the process' user namespace. Since a process is
> allowed to do other activities controlled by CAP_SYS_NICE inside a
> namespace, it should also be able to adjust timerslack_ns.
>
> Signed-off-by: Benjamin Gordon <bmgordon@google.com>
> Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
> Cc: "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Oren Laadan <orenl@cellrox.com>
> Cc: Ruchi Kandoi <kandoiruchi@google.com>
> Cc: Rom Lemarchand <romlem@android.com>
> Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
> Cc: Colin Cross <ccross@android.com>
> Cc: Nick Kralevich <nnk@google.com>
> Cc: Dmitry Shmidt <dimitrysh@google.com>
> Cc: Elliott Hughes <enh@google.com>
> Cc: Android Kernel Team <kernel-team@android.com>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> ---
> fs/proc/base.c | 4 ++--
> 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/fs/proc/base.c b/fs/proc/base.c
> index 7e9f07bf260d..4b50937dff80 100644
> --- a/fs/proc/base.c
> +++ b/fs/proc/base.c
> @@ -2356,7 +2356,7 @@ static ssize_t timerslack_ns_write(struct file *file, const char __user *buf,
> return -ESRCH;
>
> if (p != current) {
> - if (!capable(CAP_SYS_NICE)) {
> + if (!ns_capable(file->f_cred->user_ns, CAP_SYS_NICE)) {
> count = -EPERM;
> goto out;
> }
> @@ -2393,7 +2393,7 @@ static int timerslack_ns_show(struct seq_file *m, void *v)
>
> if (p != current) {
>
> - if (!capable(CAP_SYS_NICE)) {
> + if (!ns_capable(seq_user_ns(m), CAP_SYS_NICE)) {
> err = -EPERM;
> goto out;
> }
> --
> 2.19.1.331.ge82ca0e54c-goog
>

Friendly ping. Does anybody have time to take a look at this?

Thanks,
Benjamin

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-10-25 19:09    [W:0.056 / U:14.460 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site