lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Oct]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v8 07/12] dt-bindings: mfd: Add a document for PECI client MFD
On Tue, 18 Sep 2018, Jae Hyun Yoo wrote:

> This commit adds a dt-bindings document for PECI client MFD.
>
> Cc: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>
> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Andrew Jeffery <andrew@aj.id.au>
> Cc: James Feist <james.feist@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Jason M Biils <jason.m.bills@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>
> Cc: Vernon Mauery <vernon.mauery@linux.intel.com>
> Signed-off-by: Jae Hyun Yoo <jae.hyun.yoo@linux.intel.com>
> ---
> .../bindings/mfd/intel-peci-client.txt | 34 +++++++++++++++++++
> 1 file changed, 34 insertions(+)
> create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/mfd/intel-peci-client.txt
>
> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/mfd/intel-peci-client.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/mfd/intel-peci-client.txt
> new file mode 100644
> index 000000000000..cb341e363add
> --- /dev/null
> +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/mfd/intel-peci-client.txt
> @@ -0,0 +1,34 @@
> +* Intel PECI client bindings
> +
> +PECI (Platform Environment Control Interface) is a one-wire bus interface that
> +provides a communication channel from PECI clients in Intel processors and
> +chipset components to external monitoring or control devices. PECI is designed
> +to support the following sideband functions:
> +
> +- Processor and DRAM thermal management
> +- Platform Manageability
> +- Processor Interface Tuning and Diagnostics
> +- Failure Analysis
> +
> +Required properties:
> +- compatible : Should be "intel,peci-client".
> +- reg : Should contain address of a client CPU. Address range of CPU
> + clients starts from 0x30 based on PECI specification.

Nit: "start"

Would be better worded:

"According to the PECI specification client addresses start from 0x30."

> +Example:
> + peci-bus@0 {
> + compatible = "vendor,soc-peci";
> + reg = <0x0 0x1000>;
> + #address-cells = <1>;
> + #size-cells = <0>;
> +
> + peci-client@30 {
> + compatible = "intel,peci-client";
> + reg = <0x30>;
> + };
> +
> + peci-client@31 {
> + compatible = "intel,peci-client";
> + reg = <0x31>;
> + };
> + };

--
Lee Jones [李琼斯]
Linaro Services Technical Lead
Linaro.org │ Open source software for ARM SoCs
Follow Linaro: Facebook | Twitter | Blog

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-10-24 09:27    [W:0.164 / U:62.912 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site