lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Oct]   [22]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH stable v2 1/2] termios, tty/tty_baudrate.c: fix buffer overrun
Date
From: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>

On architectures with CBAUDEX == 0 (Alpha and PowerPC), the code in tty_baudrate.c does
not do any limit checking on the tty_baudrate[] array, and in fact a
buffer overrun is possible on both architectures. Add a limit check to
prevent that situation.

This will be followed by a much bigger cleanup/simplification patch.

Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin (Intel) <hpa@zytor.com>
Requested-by: Cc: Johan Hovold <johan@kernel.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Eugene Syromiatnikov <esyr@redhat.com>
Cc: <linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: <linux-serial@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
---
drivers/tty/tty_baudrate.c | 4 ++--
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/tty/tty_baudrate.c b/drivers/tty/tty_baudrate.c
index 7576ceace571..f438eaa68246 100644
--- a/drivers/tty/tty_baudrate.c
+++ b/drivers/tty/tty_baudrate.c
@@ -77,7 +77,7 @@ speed_t tty_termios_baud_rate(struct ktermios *termios)
else
cbaud += 15;
}
- return baud_table[cbaud];
+ return cbaud >= n_baud_table ? 0 : baud_table[cbaud];
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(tty_termios_baud_rate);

@@ -113,7 +113,7 @@ speed_t tty_termios_input_baud_rate(struct ktermios *termios)
else
cbaud += 15;
}
- return baud_table[cbaud];
+ return cbaud >= n_baud_table ? 0 : baud_table[cbaud];
#else /* IBSHIFT */
return tty_termios_baud_rate(termios);
#endif /* IBSHIFT */
--
2.14.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-10-22 18:19    [W:0.049 / U:33.532 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site