lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Oct]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.18 065/100] perf/core: Fix perf_pmu_unregister() locking
Date
From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>

[ Upstream commit a9f9772114c8b07ae75bcb3654bd017461248095 ]

When we unregister a PMU, we fail to serialize the @pmu_idr properly.
Fix that by doing the entire thing under pmu_lock.

Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Fixes: 2e80a82a49c4 ("perf: Dynamic pmu types")
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
kernel/events/core.c | 9 ++-------
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/events/core.c b/kernel/events/core.c
index ae22d93701db..b1ed5e99d9c6 100644
--- a/kernel/events/core.c
+++ b/kernel/events/core.c
@@ -9436,9 +9436,7 @@ static void free_pmu_context(struct pmu *pmu)
if (pmu->task_ctx_nr > perf_invalid_context)
return;

- mutex_lock(&pmus_lock);
free_percpu(pmu->pmu_cpu_context);
- mutex_unlock(&pmus_lock);
}

/*
@@ -9694,12 +9692,8 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(perf_pmu_register);

void perf_pmu_unregister(struct pmu *pmu)
{
- int remove_device;
-
mutex_lock(&pmus_lock);
- remove_device = pmu_bus_running;
list_del_rcu(&pmu->entry);
- mutex_unlock(&pmus_lock);

/*
* We dereference the pmu list under both SRCU and regular RCU, so
@@ -9711,13 +9705,14 @@ void perf_pmu_unregister(struct pmu *pmu)
free_percpu(pmu->pmu_disable_count);
if (pmu->type >= PERF_TYPE_MAX)
idr_remove(&pmu_idr, pmu->type);
- if (remove_device) {
+ if (pmu_bus_running) {
if (pmu->nr_addr_filters)
device_remove_file(pmu->dev, &dev_attr_nr_addr_filters);
device_del(pmu->dev);
put_device(pmu->dev);
}
free_pmu_context(pmu);
+ mutex_unlock(&pmus_lock);
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(perf_pmu_unregister);

--
2.17.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-10-16 06:56    [W:0.183 / U:9.212 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site