lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Oct]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 076/109] mm/thp: fix call to mmu_notifier in set_pmd_migration_entry() v2
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>

commit bfba8e5cf28f413aa05571af493871d74438979f upstream.

Inside set_pmd_migration_entry() we are holding page table locks and thus
we can not sleep so we can not call invalidate_range_start/end()

So remove call to mmu_notifier_invalidate_range_start/end() because they
are call inside the function calling set_pmd_migration_entry() (see
try_to_unmap_one()).

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181012181056.7864-1-jglisse@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Reported-by: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Zi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Anshuman Khandual <khandual@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: David Nellans <dnellans@nvidia.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
mm/huge_memory.c | 6 ------
1 file changed, 6 deletions(-)

--- a/mm/huge_memory.c
+++ b/mm/huge_memory.c
@@ -2843,9 +2843,6 @@ void set_pmd_migration_entry(struct page
if (!(pvmw->pmd && !pvmw->pte))
return;

- mmu_notifier_invalidate_range_start(mm, address,
- address + HPAGE_PMD_SIZE);
-
flush_cache_range(vma, address, address + HPAGE_PMD_SIZE);
pmdval = *pvmw->pmd;
pmdp_invalidate(vma, address, pvmw->pmd);
@@ -2858,9 +2855,6 @@ void set_pmd_migration_entry(struct page
set_pmd_at(mm, address, pvmw->pmd, pmdswp);
page_remove_rmap(page, true);
put_page(page);
-
- mmu_notifier_invalidate_range_end(mm, address,
- address + HPAGE_PMD_SIZE);
}

void remove_migration_pmd(struct page_vma_mapped_walk *pvmw, struct page *new)

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-10-16 19:35    [W:0.262 / U:26.704 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site