lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Oct]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v5 07/17] arm64: add basic pointer authentication support
From
Date
Hi Kristina,

On 05/10/18 09:47, Kristina Martsenko wrote:
> From: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
>
> This patch adds basic support for pointer authentication, allowing
> userspace to make use of APIAKey. The kernel maintains an APIAKey value
> for each process (shared by all threads within), which is initialised to
> a random value at exec() time.
>
> To describe that address authentication instructions are available, the
> ID_AA64ISAR0.{APA,API} fields are exposed to userspace. A new hwcap,
> APIA, is added to describe that the kernel manages APIAKey.
>
> Instructions using other keys (APIBKey, APDAKey, APDBKey) are disabled,
> and will behave as NOPs. These may be made use of in future patches.
>
> No support is added for the generic key (APGAKey), though this cannot be
> trapped or made to behave as a NOP. Its presence is not advertised with
> a hwcap.
>
> Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> [kristina: init keys in arch_bprm_mm_init; add AA64ISAR1.API HWCAP_CAP; use sysreg_clear_set]
> Signed-off-by: Kristina Martsenko <kristina.martsenko@arm.com>
> Tested-by: Adam Wallis <awallis@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Ramana Radhakrishnan <ramana.radhakrishnan@arm.com>
> Cc: Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>

> diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c
> index 0dd171c7d71e..3157685aa56a 100644
> --- a/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c
> +++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c
> @@ -1040,6 +1040,11 @@ static void cpu_has_fwb(const struct arm64_cpu_capabilities *__unused)
> }
>
> #ifdef CONFIG_ARM64_PTR_AUTH
> +static void cpu_enable_address_auth(struct arm64_cpu_capabilities const *cap)
> +{
> + sysreg_clear_set(sctlr_el1, 0, SCTLR_ELx_ENIA);
> +}
> +
> static bool has_address_auth(const struct arm64_cpu_capabilities *entry,
> int __unused)
> {
> @@ -1267,6 +1272,7 @@ static const struct arm64_cpu_capabilities arm64_features[] = {
> .capability = ARM64_HAS_ADDRESS_AUTH,
> .type = ARM64_CPUCAP_SYSTEM_FEATURE,
> .matches = has_address_auth,
> + .cpu_enable = cpu_enable_address_auth,
> },
> #endif /* CONFIG_ARM64_PTR_AUTH */
> {},
> @@ -1314,6 +1320,10 @@ static const struct arm64_cpu_capabilities arm64_elf_hwcaps[] = {
> #ifdef CONFIG_ARM64_SVE
> HWCAP_CAP(SYS_ID_AA64PFR0_EL1, ID_AA64PFR0_SVE_SHIFT, FTR_UNSIGNED, ID_AA64PFR0_SVE, CAP_HWCAP, HWCAP_SVE),
> #endif
> +#ifdef CONFIG_ARM64_PTR_AUTH
> + HWCAP_CAP(SYS_ID_AA64ISAR1_EL1, ID_AA64ISAR1_APA_SHIFT, FTR_UNSIGNED, 1, CAP_HWCAP, HWCAP_APIA),
> + HWCAP_CAP(SYS_ID_AA64ISAR1_EL1, ID_AA64ISAR1_API_SHIFT, FTR_UNSIGNED, 1, CAP_HWCAP, HWCAP_APIA),

This is a bit problematic. If all the CPUs have just the IMPDEF
algorithm available, we could fail to match the first entry (APA) for a
late secondary CPU and thus thus fail the CPU from booting. I guess we
need a custom entry which reuses the has_address_auth() as the matches().

Rest looks fine to me.

Suzuki

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-10-11 18:01    [W:0.207 / U:13.040 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site