lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Oct]   [10]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC PATCH for 4.21 02/16] rseq/selftests: Adapt number of threads to the number of detected cpus
Date
On smaller systems, running a test with 200 threads can take a long
time on machines with smaller number of CPUs.

Detect the number of online cpus at test runtime, and multiply that
by 6 to have 6 rseq threads per cpu preempting each other.

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Joel Fernandes <joelaf@google.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Dave Watson <davejwatson@fb.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org
Cc: "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Chris Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>
Cc: "Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Ben Maurer <bmaurer@fb.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
---
tools/testing/selftests/rseq/run_param_test.sh | 7 +++++--
1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/run_param_test.sh b/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/run_param_test.sh
index 3acd6d75ff9f..e426304fd4a0 100755
--- a/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/run_param_test.sh
+++ b/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/run_param_test.sh
@@ -1,6 +1,8 @@
#!/bin/bash
# SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0+ or MIT

+NR_CPUS=`grep '^processor' /proc/cpuinfo | wc -l`
+
EXTRA_ARGS=${@}

OLDIFS="$IFS"
@@ -28,15 +30,16 @@ IFS="$OLDIFS"

REPS=1000
SLOW_REPS=100
+NR_THREADS=$((6*${NR_CPUS}))

function do_tests()
{
local i=0
while [ "$i" -lt "${#TEST_LIST[@]}" ]; do
echo "Running test ${TEST_NAME[$i]}"
- ./param_test ${TEST_LIST[$i]} -r ${REPS} ${@} ${EXTRA_ARGS} || exit 1
+ ./param_test ${TEST_LIST[$i]} -r ${REPS} -t ${NR_THREADS} ${@} ${EXTRA_ARGS} || exit 1
echo "Running compare-twice test ${TEST_NAME[$i]}"
- ./param_test_compare_twice ${TEST_LIST[$i]} -r ${REPS} ${@} ${EXTRA_ARGS} || exit 1
+ ./param_test_compare_twice ${TEST_LIST[$i]} -r ${REPS} -t ${NR_THREADS} ${@} ${EXTRA_ARGS} || exit 1
let "i++"
done
}
--
2.11.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-10-10 21:21    [W:0.142 / U:1.480 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site