lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jan]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/pti] x86/pti: Unbreak EFI old_memmap
Commit-ID:  5ad9a697fa957e61d50ef969179c18348968cd9f
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/5ad9a697fa957e61d50ef969179c18348968cd9f
Author: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
AuthorDate: Fri, 5 Jan 2018 22:35:41 +0100
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Sat, 6 Jan 2018 11:43:44 +0100

x86/pti: Unbreak EFI old_memmap

EFI_OLD_MEMMAP's efi_call_phys_prolog() calls set_pgd() with swapper PGD that
has PAGE_USER set, which makes PTI set NX on it, and therefore EFI can't
execute it's code.

Fix that by forcefully clearing _PAGE_NX from the PGD (this can't be done
by the pgprot API).

_PAGE_NX will be automatically reintroduced in efi_call_phys_epilog(), as
_set_pgd() will again notice that this is _PAGE_USER, and set _PAGE_NX on
it.

Tested-by: Dimitri Sivanich <sivanich@hpe.com>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Acked-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: linux-efi@vger.kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/nycvar.YFH.7.76.1801052215460.11852@cbobk.fhfr.pm
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_64.c | 2 ++
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_64.c b/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_64.c
index 39c4b35..61975b6 100644
--- a/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_64.c
+++ b/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_64.c
@@ -134,7 +134,9 @@ pgd_t * __init efi_call_phys_prolog(void)
pud[j] = *pud_offset(p4d_k, vaddr);
}
}
+ pgd_offset_k(pgd * PGDIR_SIZE)->pgd &= ~_PAGE_NX;
}
+
out:
__flush_tlb_all();

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-01-06 12:59    [W:0.167 / U:0.388 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site