lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jan]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 2/5] sched/isolation: Add scheduler tick offloading interface
Date
Add the boot option that will allow us to offload the 1Hz scheduler tick
to the housekeeping CPU.

Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Luiz Capitulino <lcapitulino@redhat.com>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Wanpeng Li <kernellwp@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
include/linux/sched/isolation.h | 3 ++-
kernel/sched/isolation.c | 6 ++++++
2 files changed, 8 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/sched/isolation.h b/include/linux/sched/isolation.h
index d849431..c831855 100644
--- a/include/linux/sched/isolation.h
+++ b/include/linux/sched/isolation.h
@@ -11,7 +11,8 @@ enum hk_flags {
HK_FLAG_MISC = (1 << 2),
HK_FLAG_SCHED = (1 << 3),
HK_FLAG_TICK = (1 << 4),
- HK_FLAG_DOMAIN = (1 << 5),
+ HK_FLAG_TICK_SCHED = (1 << 5),
+ HK_FLAG_DOMAIN = (1 << 6),
};

#ifdef CONFIG_CPU_ISOLATION
diff --git a/kernel/sched/isolation.c b/kernel/sched/isolation.c
index b71b436..264ddcd 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/isolation.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/isolation.c
@@ -136,6 +136,12 @@ static int __init housekeeping_isolcpus_setup(char *str)
continue;
}

+ if (!strncmp(str, "nohz_offload,", 13)) {
+ str += 13;
+ flags |= HK_FLAG_TICK | HK_FLAG_TICK_SCHED;
+ continue;
+ }
+
if (!strncmp(str, "domain,", 7)) {
str += 7;
flags |= HK_FLAG_DOMAIN;
--
2.7.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-01-04 05:27    [W:0.084 / U:0.288 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site