lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jan]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 100/118] x86/alternatives: Fix optimize_nops() checking
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>

commit 612e8e9350fd19cae6900cf36ea0c6892d1a0dca upstream.

The alternatives code checks only the first byte whether it is a NOP, but
with NOPs in front of the payload and having actual instructions after it
breaks the "optimized' test.

Make sure to scan all bytes before deciding to optimize the NOPs in there.

Reported-by: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Jiri Kosina <jikos@kernel.org>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: Andrew Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180110112815.mgciyf5acwacphkq@pd.tnic
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/x86/kernel/alternative.c | 7 +++++--
1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/kernel/alternative.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/alternative.c
@@ -344,9 +344,12 @@ done:
static void __init_or_module noinline optimize_nops(struct alt_instr *a, u8 *instr)
{
unsigned long flags;
+ int i;

- if (instr[0] != 0x90)
- return;
+ for (i = 0; i < a->padlen; i++) {
+ if (instr[i] != 0x90)
+ return;
+ }

local_irq_save(flags);
add_nops(instr + (a->instrlen - a->padlen), a->padlen);

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-01-15 14:02    [W:0.564 / U:1.728 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site