lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jan]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC PATCH 3/5] softirq: Defer to workqueue when rescheduling is needed
Date
One more step toward converting ksoftirqd to per vector workqueues.

Suggested-by: Paolo Abeni <pabeni@redhat.com>
Suggested-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>
Cc: Dmitry Safonov <dima@arista.com>
Cc: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Hannes Frederic Sowa <hannes@stressinduktion.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Levin Alexander <alexander.levin@verizon.com>
Cc: Paolo Abeni <pabeni@redhat.com>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Radu Rendec <rrendec@arista.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Wanpeng Li <wanpeng.li@hotmail.com>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@s-opensource.com>
---
kernel/softirq.c | 18 ++++++++----------
1 file changed, 8 insertions(+), 10 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/softirq.c b/kernel/softirq.c
index 255da68..441e654 100644
--- a/kernel/softirq.c
+++ b/kernel/softirq.c
@@ -389,16 +389,14 @@ asmlinkage __visible void __softirq_entry __do_softirq(void)

pending = local_softirq_pending() & ~softirq->pending_work_mask;
if (pending) {
- if (need_resched()) {
- wakeup_softirqd();
- } else {
- /* Vectors that overreached the limits are threaded */
- if (overrun & pending)
- do_softirq_workqueue(overrun & pending);
- pending &= ~overrun;
- if (pending)
- goto restart;
- }
+ if (need_resched())
+ overrun = pending;
+ /* Vectors that overreached the limits are threaded */
+ if (overrun & pending)
+ do_softirq_workqueue(overrun & pending);
+ pending &= ~overrun;
+ if (pending)
+ goto restart;
}

lockdep_softirq_end(in_hardirq);
--
2.7.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-01-16 05:42    [W:0.060 / U:4.080 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site