lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jan]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 016/146] x86/entry: Align entry text section to PMD boundary
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>

commit 2f7412ba9c6af5ab16bdbb4a3fdb1dcd2b4fd3c2 upstream.

The (irq)entry text must be visible in the user space page tables. To allow
simple PMD based sharing, make the entry text PMD aligned.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: aliguori@amazon.com
Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at
Cc: hughd@google.com
Cc: keescook@google.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/x86/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S | 8 ++++++++
1 file changed, 8 insertions(+)

--- a/arch/x86/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
@@ -61,11 +61,17 @@ jiffies_64 = jiffies;
. = ALIGN(HPAGE_SIZE); \
__end_rodata_hpage_align = .;

+#define ALIGN_ENTRY_TEXT_BEGIN . = ALIGN(PMD_SIZE);
+#define ALIGN_ENTRY_TEXT_END . = ALIGN(PMD_SIZE);
+
#else

#define X64_ALIGN_RODATA_BEGIN
#define X64_ALIGN_RODATA_END

+#define ALIGN_ENTRY_TEXT_BEGIN
+#define ALIGN_ENTRY_TEXT_END
+
#endif

PHDRS {
@@ -102,8 +108,10 @@ SECTIONS
CPUIDLE_TEXT
LOCK_TEXT
KPROBES_TEXT
+ ALIGN_ENTRY_TEXT_BEGIN
ENTRY_TEXT
IRQENTRY_TEXT
+ ALIGN_ENTRY_TEXT_END
SOFTIRQENTRY_TEXT
*(.fixup)
*(.gnu.warning)

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-01-01 16:11    [W:0.392 / U:2.480 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site