lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jan]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 025/146] x86/mm: Abstract switching CR3
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>

commit 48e111982cda033fec832c6b0592c2acedd85d04 upstream.

In preparation to adding additional PCID flushing, abstract the
loading of a new ASID into CR3.

[ PeterZ: Split out from big combo patch ]

Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: aliguori@amazon.com
Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at
Cc: hughd@google.com
Cc: keescook@google.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/x86/mm/tlb.c | 22 ++++++++++++++++++++--
1 file changed, 20 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/mm/tlb.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/tlb.c
@@ -100,6 +100,24 @@ static void choose_new_asid(struct mm_st
*need_flush = true;
}

+static void load_new_mm_cr3(pgd_t *pgdir, u16 new_asid, bool need_flush)
+{
+ unsigned long new_mm_cr3;
+
+ if (need_flush) {
+ new_mm_cr3 = build_cr3(pgdir, new_asid);
+ } else {
+ new_mm_cr3 = build_cr3_noflush(pgdir, new_asid);
+ }
+
+ /*
+ * Caution: many callers of this function expect
+ * that load_cr3() is serializing and orders TLB
+ * fills with respect to the mm_cpumask writes.
+ */
+ write_cr3(new_mm_cr3);
+}
+
void leave_mm(int cpu)
{
struct mm_struct *loaded_mm = this_cpu_read(cpu_tlbstate.loaded_mm);
@@ -230,7 +248,7 @@ void switch_mm_irqs_off(struct mm_struct
if (need_flush) {
this_cpu_write(cpu_tlbstate.ctxs[new_asid].ctx_id, next->context.ctx_id);
this_cpu_write(cpu_tlbstate.ctxs[new_asid].tlb_gen, next_tlb_gen);
- write_cr3(build_cr3(next->pgd, new_asid));
+ load_new_mm_cr3(next->pgd, new_asid, true);

/*
* NB: This gets called via leave_mm() in the idle path
@@ -243,7 +261,7 @@ void switch_mm_irqs_off(struct mm_struct
trace_tlb_flush_rcuidle(TLB_FLUSH_ON_TASK_SWITCH, TLB_FLUSH_ALL);
} else {
/* The new ASID is already up to date. */
- write_cr3(build_cr3_noflush(next->pgd, new_asid));
+ load_new_mm_cr3(next->pgd, new_asid, false);

/* See above wrt _rcuidle. */
trace_tlb_flush_rcuidle(TLB_FLUSH_ON_TASK_SWITCH, 0);

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-01-01 16:10    [W:0.355 / U:0.028 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site