lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Sep]   [26]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/fpu] x86/fpu: Turn WARN_ON() in context switch into WARN_ON_FPU()
Commit-ID:  03eaec81ac09814817e9f0307d572ffe8365f980
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/03eaec81ac09814817e9f0307d572ffe8365f980
Author: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
AuthorDate: Sat, 23 Sep 2017 15:00:06 +0200
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Sun, 24 Sep 2017 13:04:35 +0200

x86/fpu: Turn WARN_ON() in context switch into WARN_ON_FPU()

copy_xregs_to_kernel checks if the alternatives have been already
patched.

This WARN_ON() is always executed in every context switch.

All the other checks in fpu internal.h are WARN_ON_FPU(), but
this one is plain WARN_ON(). I assume it was forgotten to switch it.

So switch it to WARN_ON_FPU() too to avoid some unnecessary code
in the context switch, and a potentially expensive cache line miss for the
global variable.

Signed-off-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Eric Biggers <ebiggers3@gmail.com>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@intel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170329062605.4970-1-andi@firstfloor.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170923130016.21448-24-mingo@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/internal.h | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/internal.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/internal.h
index 629e7abc..2dca7c6 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/internal.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/internal.h
@@ -350,7 +350,7 @@ static inline void copy_xregs_to_kernel(struct xregs_state *xstate)
u32 hmask = mask >> 32;
int err;

- WARN_ON(!alternatives_patched);
+ WARN_ON_FPU(!alternatives_patched);

XSTATE_XSAVE(xstate, lmask, hmask, err);

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-09-26 10:38    [W:0.169 / U:0.332 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site