lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Sep]   [26]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/fpu] x86/fpu: Split the state handling in fpu__drop()
Commit-ID:  b6aa85558d7e7b18fc3470d2bc1731d2205dd275
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/b6aa85558d7e7b18fc3470d2bc1731d2205dd275
Author: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
AuthorDate: Sat, 23 Sep 2017 15:00:00 +0200
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Sun, 24 Sep 2017 13:04:34 +0200

x86/fpu: Split the state handling in fpu__drop()

Prepare fpu__drop() to use fpu->fpregs_active.

There are two distinct usecases for fpu__drop() in this context:
exit_thread() when called for 'current' in exit(), and when called
for another task in fork().

This patch does not change behavior, it only adds a couple of
debug checks and structures the code to make the ->fpregs_active
change more obviously correct.

All the complications will be removed later on.

Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Eric Biggers <ebiggers3@gmail.com>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@intel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170923130016.21448-18-mingo@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c | 19 +++++++++++++------
1 file changed, 13 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c b/arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c
index b7dc383..815dfba 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c
@@ -414,12 +414,19 @@ void fpu__drop(struct fpu *fpu)
{
preempt_disable();

- if (fpu->fpregs_active) {
- /* Ignore delayed exceptions from user space */
- asm volatile("1: fwait\n"
- "2:\n"
- _ASM_EXTABLE(1b, 2b));
- fpregs_deactivate(fpu);
+ if (fpu == &current->thread.fpu) {
+ WARN_ON_FPU(fpu->fpstate_active != fpu->fpregs_active);
+
+ if (fpu->fpregs_active) {
+ /* Ignore delayed exceptions from user space */
+ asm volatile("1: fwait\n"
+ "2:\n"
+ _ASM_EXTABLE(1b, 2b));
+ if (fpu->fpregs_active)
+ fpregs_deactivate(fpu);
+ }
+ } else {
+ WARN_ON_FPU(fpu->fpregs_active);
}

fpu->fpstate_active = 0;
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-09-26 10:36    [W:0.168 / U:0.296 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site