lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Sep]   [23]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 16/33] x86/fpu: Make the fpu state change in fpu__clear() scheduler-atomic
Date
Do this temporarily only, to make it easier to change the FPU state machine,
in particular this change couples the fpu->fpregs_active and fpu->fpstate_active
states: they are only set/cleared together (as far as the scheduler sees them).

This will be removed by later patches.

Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c | 2 ++
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c b/arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c
index bad57248e5a0..b7dc3833d41a 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c
@@ -462,9 +462,11 @@ void fpu__clear(struct fpu *fpu)
* Make sure fpstate is cleared and initialized.
*/
if (static_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_FPU)) {
+ preempt_disable();
fpu__activate_curr(fpu);
user_fpu_begin();
copy_init_fpstate_to_fpregs();
+ preempt_enable();
}
}

--
2.11.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-09-23 15:06    [W:0.172 / U:3.648 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site