lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Aug]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v8 05/28] x86/mpx: Use signed variables to compute effective addresses
On Fri, Aug 18, 2017 at 05:27:46PM -0700, Ricardo Neri wrote:
> Even though memory addresses are unsigned, the operands used to compute the
> effective address do have a sign. This is true for ModRM.rm, SIB.base,
> SIB.index as well as the displacement bytes. Thus, signed variables shall
> be used when computing the effective address from these operands. Once the
> signed effective address has been computed, it is casted to an unsigned
> long to determine the linear address.
>
> Variables are renamed to better reflect the type of address being
> computed.
>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Adam Buchbinder <adam.buchbinder@gmail.com>
> Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
> Cc: Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@gmail.com>
> Cc: Qiaowei Ren <qiaowei.ren@intel.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Nathan Howard <liverlint@gmail.com>
> Cc: Adan Hawthorn <adanhawthorn@gmail.com>
> Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
> Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
> Cc: x86@kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
> ---
> arch/x86/mm/mpx.c | 20 ++++++++++++++------
> 1 file changed, 14 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

I think you can simplify this function even more (diff ontop):

diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/mpx.c b/arch/x86/mm/mpx.c
index 9eec98022510..d0ec5c9b2a57 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/mpx.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/mpx.c
@@ -139,7 +139,7 @@ static int get_reg_offset(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs,
static void __user *mpx_get_addr_ref(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs)
{
int addr_offset, base_offset, indx_offset;
- unsigned long linear_addr;
+ unsigned long linear_addr = -1;
long eff_addr, base, indx;
insn_byte_t sib;

@@ -150,18 +150,18 @@ static void __user *mpx_get_addr_ref(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs)
if (X86_MODRM_MOD(insn->modrm.value) == 3) {
addr_offset = get_reg_offset(insn, regs, REG_TYPE_RM);
if (addr_offset < 0)
- goto out_err;
+ goto out;

eff_addr = regs_get_register(regs, addr_offset);
} else {
if (insn->sib.nbytes) {
base_offset = get_reg_offset(insn, regs, REG_TYPE_BASE);
if (base_offset < 0)
- goto out_err;
+ goto out;

indx_offset = get_reg_offset(insn, regs, REG_TYPE_INDEX);
if (indx_offset < 0)
- goto out_err;
+ goto out;

base = regs_get_register(regs, base_offset);
indx = regs_get_register(regs, indx_offset);
@@ -170,7 +170,7 @@ static void __user *mpx_get_addr_ref(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs)
} else {
addr_offset = get_reg_offset(insn, regs, REG_TYPE_RM);
if (addr_offset < 0)
- goto out_err;
+ goto out;

eff_addr = regs_get_register(regs, addr_offset);
}
@@ -180,9 +180,8 @@ static void __user *mpx_get_addr_ref(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs)

linear_addr = (unsigned long)eff_addr;

+out:
return (void __user *)linear_addr;
-out_err:
- return (void __user *)-1;
}

static int mpx_insn_decode(struct insn *insn,
--
Regards/Gruss,
Boris.

SUSE Linux GmbH, GF: Felix Imendörffer, Jane Smithard, Graham Norton, HRB 21284 (AG Nürnberg)
--

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-08-29 18:10    [W:0.271 / U:3.856 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site