lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Aug]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5/6] timekeeping: Use proper timekeeper for debug code
Date
From: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>

When CONFIG_DEBUG_TIMEKEEPING is enabled the timekeeping_check_update()
function will update status like last_warning and underflow_seen on the
timekeeper.

If there are issues found this state is used to rate limit the warnings
that get printed.

This rate limiting doesn't really really work if stored in real_tk as
the shadow timekeeper is overwritten onto real_tk at the end of every
update_wall_time() call, resetting last_warning and other statuses.

Fix rate limiting by using the shadow_timekeeper for
timekeeping_check_update().

Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Miroslav Lichvar <mlichvar@redhat.com>
Cc: Richard Cochran <richardcochran@gmail.com>
Cc: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Cc: Stephen Boyd <stephen.boyd@linaro.org>
Fixes: commit 57d05a93ada7 ("time: Rework debugging variables so they aren't global")
Signed-off-by: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
---
kernel/time/timekeeping.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/time/timekeeping.c b/kernel/time/timekeeping.c
index cedafa0..8f58669 100644
--- a/kernel/time/timekeeping.c
+++ b/kernel/time/timekeeping.c
@@ -2066,7 +2066,7 @@ void update_wall_time(void)
goto out;

/* Do some additional sanity checking */
- timekeeping_check_update(real_tk, offset);
+ timekeeping_check_update(tk, offset);

/*
* With NO_HZ we may have to accumulate many cycle_intervals
--
2.7.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-08-18 20:51    [W:0.038 / U:5.420 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site