lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Aug]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v8 16/28] x86/insn-eval: Indicate a 32-bit displacement if ModRM.mod is 0 and ModRM.rm is 101b
Date
Section 2.2.1.3 of the Intel 64 and IA-32 Architectures Software
Developer's Manual volume 2A states that when ModRM.mod is zero and
ModRM.rm is 101b, a 32-bit displacement follows the ModRM byte. This means
that none of the registers are used in the computation of the effective
address. A return value of -EDOM indicates callers that they should not
use the value of registers when computing the effective address for the
instruction.

In long mode, the effective address is given by the 32-bit displacement
plus the location of the next instruction. In protected mode, only the
displacement is used.

The instruction decoder takes care of obtaining the displacement.

Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Adam Buchbinder <adam.buchbinder@gmail.com>
Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
Cc: Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@gmail.com>
Cc: Qiaowei Ren <qiaowei.ren@intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
---
arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c | 26 +++++++++++++++++++++++---
1 file changed, 23 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c b/arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c
index a8e12bd0aecd..04f696c3793e 100644
--- a/arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c
+++ b/arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c
@@ -360,6 +360,14 @@ static int get_reg_offset(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs,
switch (type) {
case REG_TYPE_RM:
regno = X86_MODRM_RM(insn->modrm.value);
+
+ /*
+ * ModRM.mod == 0 and ModRM.rm == 5 means a 32-bit displacement
+ * follows the ModRM byte.
+ */
+ if (!X86_MODRM_MOD(insn->modrm.value) && regno == 5)
+ return -EDOM;
+
if (X86_REX_B(insn->rex_prefix.value))
regno += 8;
break;
@@ -706,10 +714,22 @@ void __user *insn_get_addr_ref(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs)
eff_addr = base + indx * (1 << X86_SIB_SCALE(sib));
} else {
addr_offset = get_reg_offset(insn, regs, REG_TYPE_RM);
- if (addr_offset < 0)
- goto out_err;

- eff_addr = regs_get_register(regs, addr_offset);
+ /*
+ * -EDOM means that we must ignore the address_offset.
+ * In such a case, in 64-bit mode the effective address
+ * relative to the RIP of the following instruction.
+ */
+ if (addr_offset == -EDOM) {
+ if (user_64bit_mode(regs))
+ eff_addr = (long)regs->ip + insn->length;
+ else
+ eff_addr = 0;
+ } else if (addr_offset < 0) {
+ goto out_err;
+ } else {
+ eff_addr = regs_get_register(regs, addr_offset);
+ }
}

eff_addr += insn->displacement.value;
--
2.13.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-08-19 02:33    [W:0.292 / U:24.260 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site