lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Aug]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v4 1/5] treewide: Consolidate Apple DMI checks
On Tue, Aug 01, 2017 at 02:10:41PM +0200, Lukas Wunner wrote:
> We're about to amend ACPI bus scan with DMI checks whether we're running
> on a Mac to support Apple device properties in AML. The DMI checks are
> performed for every single device, adding overhead for everything x86
> that isn't Apple, which is the majority. Rafael and Andy therefore
> request to perform the DMI match only once and cache the result.
>
> Outside of ACPI various other Apple DMI checks exist and it seems
> reasonable to use the cached value there as well. Rafael, Andy and
> Darren suggest performing the DMI check in arch code and making it
> available with a header in include/linux/platform_data/x86/.
>
> To this end, add early_platform_quirks() to arch/x86/kernel/quirks.c
> to perform the DMI check and invoke it from setup_arch(). Switch over
> all existing Apple DMI checks, thereby fixing two deficiencies:
>
> * They are now #defined to false on non-x86 arches and can thus be
> optimized away if they're located in cross-arch code.
>
> * Some of them only match "Apple Inc." but not "Apple Computer, Inc.",
> which is used by BIOSes released between January 2006 (when the first
> x86 Macs started shipping) and January 2007 (when the company name
> changed upon introduction of the iPhone).
>
> Cc: Lv Zheng <lv.zheng@intel.com>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
> Cc: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
> Cc: Andreas Noever <andreas.noever@gmail.com>
> Cc: Michael Jamet <michael.jamet@intel.com>
> Cc: Yehezkel Bernat <yehezkel.bernat@intel.com>
> Cc: Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>

For the thunderbolt bits:

Acked-by: Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-08-01 15:12    [W:0.068 / U:14.512 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site