lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Jul]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH RFC 06/26] ipc: Replace spin_unlock_wait() with lock/unlock pair
From
Date
On 06/30/2017 02:01 AM, Paul E. McKenney wrote:
> There is no agreed-upon definition of spin_unlock_wait()'s semantics,
> and it appears that all callers could do just as well with a lock/unlock
> pair. This commit therefore replaces the spin_unlock_wait() call in
> exit_sem() with spin_lock() followed immediately by spin_unlock().
> This should be safe from a performance perspective because exit_sem()
> is rarely invoked in production.
>
> Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
> Cc: Manfred Spraul <manfred@colorfullife.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
> Cc: Andrea Parri <parri.andrea@gmail.com>
> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Acked-by: Manfred Spraul <manfred@colorfullife.com>
> ---
> ipc/sem.c | 3 ++-
> 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/ipc/sem.c b/ipc/sem.c
> index 947dc2348271..e88d0749a929 100644
> --- a/ipc/sem.c
> +++ b/ipc/sem.c
> @@ -2096,7 +2096,8 @@ void exit_sem(struct task_struct *tsk)
> * possibility where we exit while freeary() didn't
> * finish unlocking sem_undo_list.
> */
> - spin_unlock_wait(&ulp->lock);
> + spin_lock(&ulp->lock);
> + spin_unlock(&ulp->lock);
> rcu_read_unlock();
> break;
> }


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-07-01 21:23    [W:0.203 / U:1.668 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site