lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Jun]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v7 20/26] x86/cpufeature: Add User-Mode Instruction Prevention definitions
On Fri, May 05, 2017 at 11:17:18AM -0700, Ricardo Neri wrote:
> User-Mode Instruction Prevention is a security feature present in new
> Intel processors that, when set, prevents the execution of a subset of
> instructions if such instructions are executed in user mode (CPL > 0).
> Attempting to execute such instructions causes a general protection
> exception.
>
> The subset of instructions comprises:
>
> * SGDT - Store Global Descriptor Table
> * SIDT - Store Interrupt Descriptor Table
> * SLDT - Store Local Descriptor Table
> * SMSW - Store Machine Status Word
> * STR - Store Task Register
>
> This feature is also added to the list of disabled-features to allow
> a cleaner handling of build-time configuration.
>
> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
> Cc: Chen Yucong <slaoub@gmail.com>
> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
> Cc: Huang Rui <ray.huang@amd.com>
> Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
> Cc: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
> Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>
> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
> Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
> Cc: Liang Z. Li <liang.z.li@intel.com>
> Cc: Alexandre Julliard <julliard@winehq.org>
> Cc: Stas Sergeev <stsp@list.ru>
> Cc: x86@kernel.org
> Cc: linux-msdos@vger.kernel.org
>
> Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
> ---
> arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeatures.h | 1 +
> arch/x86/include/asm/disabled-features.h | 8 +++++++-
> arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/processor-flags.h | 2 ++
> 3 files changed, 10 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>

--
Regards/Gruss,
Boris.

SUSE Linux GmbH, GF: Felix Imendörffer, Jane Smithard, Graham Norton, HRB 21284 (AG Nürnberg)
--

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-06-12 01:09    [W:0.600 / U:2.244 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site