lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Jun]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH RFC 05/26] exit: Replace spin_unlock_wait() with lock/unlock pair
Date
There is no agreed-upon definition of spin_unlock_wait()'s semantics, and
it appears that all callers could do just as well with a lock/unlock pair.
This commit therefore replaces the spin_unlock_wait() call in do_exit()
with spin_lock() followed immediately by spin_unlock(). This should be
safe from a performance perspective because the lock is a per-task lock,
and this is happening only at task-exit time.

Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Cc: Andrea Parri <parri.andrea@gmail.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
---
kernel/exit.c | 3 ++-
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/exit.c b/kernel/exit.c
index 516acdb0e0ec..1a976e47ddd1 100644
--- a/kernel/exit.c
+++ b/kernel/exit.c
@@ -832,7 +832,8 @@ void __noreturn do_exit(long code)
* Ensure that we must observe the pi_state in exit_mm() ->
* mm_release() -> exit_pi_state_list().
*/
- raw_spin_unlock_wait(&tsk->pi_lock);
+ raw_spin_lock(&tsk->pi_lock);
+ raw_spin_unlock(&tsk->pi_lock);

if (unlikely(in_atomic())) {
pr_info("note: %s[%d] exited with preempt_count %d\n",
--
2.5.2
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-06-30 02:12    [W:0.198 / U:5.492 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site